#s-lg-az-reset Skip to main content

eResources

Find the best library databases for your research.

Get Started

Academic Search Premier

Hot Topics & Controversial Issues

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Library ONE Search

Get Help

Chat. Visit. Call. Browse.

Librarians by Subject Area

MLA Citation Guide

APA Citation Guide

Get Smart

You're in college now, so what's the difference between scholarly research and surfing the web? Smart Strategy ► Superior Results!

The MCC Libraries Research Process tutorial will get you working smarter, not harder! Learn how to develop a topic, create a research strategy, find and evaluate sources, and more.

Database Conditions of Use

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
How many people live in Ohio? What is the population of Buffalo, N.Y.? What percentage of the population is elderly? What is the median household income in St. Louis? All of these questions and more are easily answered with American FactFinder’s excellent searchable database of every town, city, county, and state in the U.S. FactFinder is a very useful source for official reports, homework, and grant writing by providing access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
New
A comprehensive collection of academic journals, reports, news, and images supporting economics, business, and related fields including more than 23,000,000 full text articles.
New
The National Digital Newspaper Program, a partnership between the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, has digitized thousands of newspapers from all 50 states. The oldest newspaper digitized thus far is the Gazette of the United-States. The Gazette’s digitized files go back to 1789. These newspapers can be downloaded into PDF and JP2 formats. The National Digital Newspaper Program is a great resource for primary historical records.
New
The Library of Congress’ Digital Collections contains numerous collections of archived photographs, videos, manuscripts, and documents. These resources are arranged for convenient browsing. Users can select a subject (Portrait Photographs), a specific collection (Prints and Photographs Division), or a media format (Film, Video). The amount of primary documentation here is simply staggering. Easily download a JPEG of a New York Giants baseball card from 1887 or browse Dorothea Lange’s dramatic photographs of Depression-era migrants. Every document contains detailed information, including creation date, material titles, and other contextual information.
New
The U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service provides visitors with a registry of species listed as threatened or endangered. The database allows users to search their state or county for local endangered or threatened species. There’s an encyclopedia entry for each species, and it provides habitat information and geographic range, as well as petitions regarding the species’ status.
New
Asthma. Bed bugs. Sulfur dioxide air pollution. The EPA’s A to Z Index provides up-to-date information on hundreds of topics related to ecology, green technology, natural resources, and environmental health. Each link offers information on these important topics, including official EPA reports, government regulations, and EPA recommendations. The index is easily searchable. Just press Control and the F key to initiate a browser search tool.
New
The FBI Vault, made available through the provisions of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), offers fascinating insights into government investigations of many important topics. Users can peruse the documents, all available for viewing in a web browser or downloadable as PDFs. Topics are organized into large subjects, such as civil rights and organized crime. These larger topics are then arranged into specific people (Martin Luther King, Jr.) and events (Alcatraz escape). And yes, there are many documents available under the category Unexplained Phenomenon. There is also a useful A–Z index for easy topical browsing.
New
Focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Provides news, background information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents and statistics covering topics such as energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, economic development, and more.
New
Whether it’s reports from Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson or notes written by John F. Kennedy during the Cuban Missile Crisis, the National Archives has an extensive collection of primary documents available online. The catalog search is presented in simple search engine format, which is handy for casual users. After a search term has been entered and the results appear, click on Available Online along the top banner to narrow the results to electronically accessible records. Researchers can easily adjust the results by chronology, file format, and subject. Users can seamlessly switch between results available in PDF, JPG, GIF, and a variety of other file formats.
New
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
New
UNESCO allows users to compare important data sets among various nations and regions. Users can choose an important issue, such as comparing literacy rates between wealthy and developing nations, and instantly compile charts and graphs with this data. UNESCO has collected data on each nation, detailing the availability their populations have to education, science, and culture. Data addresses gender issues and sustainability. UNESCO also provides downloadable PDFs of official reports on these important issues.
New
It’s the 21st century and technology is impacting every vocational and career sector. Computer coding and web design are important skills in today’s workplace. W3Schools is a collection of web-coding language tutorials. This database provides thousands of examples of coding in HTML, CSS, JavaScript, SQL, PHP, jQuery, and other languages. For instance, tutorials demonstrate how to create a table in HTML or pad text in CSS. Those who currently edit websites or who want to learn how to code should have this database bookmarked.
New
Provides more than 1.7 million articles on conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. Comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...