Mesa Community College Research Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | V | W

A
Administration of Justice
by Janell Pierce - Last Updated Dec 22, 2011
A research guide to assist students taking Administration of Justice classes.

American Indian Studies
by Janell Pierce - Last Updated Dec 22, 2011
A guide to books, journal articles, websites and other resources for American Indian studies at Mesa Community College.

APA Citation Style, 6th edition
by Zoe Luter - Last Updated Oct 31, 2011
A guide to APA (American Psychological Association) style, 6th edition.

Art
by Zoe Luter - Last Updated Dec 23, 2011
This guide will help art students locate art resources (including images).

B
Banned Books
by Megan McGuire, Patricia Kane - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012

Book Reviews - writing and finding
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Nov 1, 2010
This guide will help you locate book reviews using print and electronic sources and provides resources on writing a book review

Buddhism
by Trevor Smith - Last Updated Sep 22, 2011

Bullying
by Megan McGuire - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012

Business and Industry
by Ann Tolzman - Last Updated Aug 31, 2010
This guide was created to help students find company and industry information

C
Careers
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012

Children's Literature
by Megan McGuire - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
This guide will assist you in doing research in the field of children's literature as well as accessing the library's Juvenile Collection.

Choosing a Topic
by Megan McGuire - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
This guide will help you select a topic and broaden or narrow your topic.

Communications
by Zoe Luter, Janell Pierce - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012
This guide will provide Communication students with information related to Communication, Mass Media & Journalism

Congo Women
by Janell Pierce - Last Updated May 11, 2011

Controversial Issues/Pros and Cons
by Janell Pierce - Last Updated Dec 22, 2011
A guide to finding books, articles and other materials on controversial issues. Writing an argumentative essay? This is the guide for you!

Culinary Arts
by Marie Brown - Last Updated Jan 9, 2012
This libguide will help you find the best information in a variety of formats in the field of culinary arts.

D
Dance
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Jan 19, 2012
A guide to finding books, journal articles and other information sources in the field of dance.

Dental Hygiene
by Megan McGuire - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
A guide to books, journal articles and other resources for the dental hygiene program based at the Red Mountain campus.

Designing Library Friendly Assignments
by Zoe Luter - Last Updated Dec 23, 2011
This guide aims to help faculty in designing assignments that are "library friendly" or assignments that utilize sources to which the MCC Libraries subscribe.

Domestic Violence
by Karen Kinzer - Last Updated Oct 11, 2011

Dual Enrollment Classes
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Dec 15, 2011
This guide was created for dual enrollment students and faculty to help identify library resources and services and access methods to use library resources from off-campus.

E
Education
by Janell Pierce - Last Updated Dec 22, 2011
This guide is designed for MCC students enrolled in Education classes. It serves as a starting point for course assignments. Use the tabs at the top of the guide to get started finding, using and evaluating information.

ENG 102/ENG 108-First Year Composition
by Marjorie Leta, Megan McGuire, Marie Brown - Last Updated Dec 15, 2011
This guide has been designed for MCC students taking English 102. It serves as a starting point for the research paper assignment. Use the tabs at the top of the guide to get started finding, using and evaluating information for your assignments.

English 101-Composition: Argumentative Essay
by Marjorie Leta, Megan McGuire, Marie Brown - Last Updated Dec 15, 2011
Library Resources and tips for locating information on controversial issues for the argumentative essay.

ENH 255 Contemporary US Literature & Film
by Janell Pierce - Last Updated Jan 8, 2011
This is a guide on how to find books, articles and other materials related to a short story or book which was made into a film.

Environmental Science
by Marie Brown - Last Updated Dec 21, 2011
A guide to research in the area of environmental science

Evaluating Web Resources
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
Use this guide for tips on evaluating web sites. Example web sites are included to demonstrate good vs. bad web sites.

Exercise Science & Physical Education
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
A guide to library and internet resources in Exercise Science and Physical Education

F
Fashion, Textiles and Clothing
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Jan 23, 2012
Use this guide for research help in fashion, fashion history, fashion design, fashion culture and textiles.

Film Reviews
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Dec 15, 2011
A guide to finding film reviews both online and at the MCC library

Forensic Science
by Serene Rock - Last Updated Jan 31, 2012

Frankenstein
by Zoe Luter - Last Updated Dec 23, 2011
This guide will help English 102 students locate information on Mary Shelley's Frankenstein

G
Gaming and Education
by Megan McGuire - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
This guide gathers in one place information on gaming and education in order to support the Games as a Force and Art Form: Teaching, Learning, and the Creative Economy 2011-2012 Video Games Speakers Series.

GED en Español / GED- Spanish
by Elisabeth Rodriguez - Last Updated Nov 23, 2011
En esta LibGuide encontra información general para ayudar le en su preparación para el examen GED (General Educational Development).

GLG 110 -- Geologic Disasters and the Environment
by Trevor Smith - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012
A guide to assist MCC students taking Geology 110 in finding presentation resources and encourage scholarly scientific research.

Google Searching
by Megan McGuire - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
This guide provides tips and techniques for searching Google.

Guide to Resources for Severely Wounded OIF/OEF Military Personnel
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Oct 12, 2011
This is a guide to internet resources for severely wounded OEF/OIF Military Personnel.

H
Health Science
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
This guide incorporates health information available in the library and online.

I
Integrating Library Resources into WebCT (or other LMS)
by Zoe Luter - Last Updated Dec 23, 2011
This guide shows faculty how to incorporate into WebCT persistent links to resources such as databases, e journals, specific electronic articles, and e books.

Interior Design
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Jan 27, 2012

Interlibrary Loan
by Megan McGuire - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012

L
Law
by Serene Rock - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
This guide will help students find information on about the Law resources we carry in the MCC library


Library and Research Apps
by Serene Rock - Last Updated Feb 17, 2012

Library Information Technology (LBT) Program
by Elisabeth Rodriguez - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
Library Information Technology (LBT) LibGuide.

Library Instruction
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
This guide explains what library instruction is, how it can be custom-tailored for your class, how to schedule instruction and general FAQ's about library instruction.

Library Resources for Faculty Teaching Online Courses
by Ann Tolzman - Last Updated Nov 1, 2010
This guide describes the library resources available to MCC faculty who teach online courses.

Library Toolkit for Faculty
by Megan McGuire - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
This guide provides tutorials, videos, PDF's, and games about using library resources and other research tips that faculty can use in their classes, especially in any Learning Management System such as BlackBoard and WebCT.

Library Toolkit for Students
by MCC Library Reference - Last Updated Dec 15, 2011
This guide provides tutorials, videos, PDF's, and games about using library resources and other research tips.

Life Sciences
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012

Literature
by Megan McGuire - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012

M
MCC emergency database page
by Trevor Smith - Last Updated Sep 22, 2011

MLA Citation Guide, 7th edition
by Zoe Luter - Last Updated Oct 17, 2011
A guide on how to use the MLA (Modern Language Association) citation style 7th edition

Mortuary Science
by Marie Brown - Last Updated Jan 9, 2012

Music
by Megan McGuire - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
This guide is for students taking Music Humanities classes (MHL).

N
Nursing
by Janell Pierce - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
Research assistance for nursing students.

Nutrition
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012

O
Online Student Services and Resources
by MCC Library Reference - Last Updated Feb 7, 2012
A guide to library services and resources for students taking online classes.

Organic Chemistry
by Trevor Smith - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
A guide to assist MCC chemistry students in finding quality resources and encourage scholarly scientific research.

P
Printing in the Library
by Trevor Smith - Last Updated Sep 22, 2011
This guide will instruct patrons on how to put value on their print card and how to print a document.

Psychology
by Zoe Luter - Last Updated Jan 22, 2012
This guide will introduce students to psychology resources, both print & electronic.

Pygmalion
by Zoe Luter - Last Updated Dec 23, 2011
This guide will help students explore themes and locate literary criticism on the play Pygmalion by Bernard Shaw.

R
Red Mountain
by Marie Brown - Last Updated Feb 6, 2012
MCC Library at Red Mountain

Reflective Writing ENG102
by Zoe Luter - Last Updated Feb 5, 2012
This will aid English 102 students who are focusing on the effects of personal, reflective, creative writing.

S
Social Work
by Elisabeth Rodriguez - Last Updated Nov 30, 2011
A guide to finding books, journal articles and other information sources in the field of social work

Sociology
by Janell Pierce - Last Updated Jan 11, 2011
A guide to finding journal articles, books, websites and other resources in the field of sociology

Southwest Collection
by Marie Brown - Last Updated Dec 21, 2011
A Guide to the Southwest Collection at the Paul A. Elsner Library at Mesa Community College.

Statistics
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Dec 15, 2011
Use this guide to help identify general resources for statistics.


Student Survival Series - Student Workshops
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Jan 9, 2012
Visit this guide for information on library workshops for students!

Subject Encyclopedias
by Zoe Luter - Last Updated Sep 22, 2011
Subject encyclopedias focus on a particular discipline, field or subject and usually have longer, in depth articles. These resources are good places to start the research process.

T
Teenage Pregnancy
by Janell Pierce, Megan McGuire - Last Updated Feb 7, 2012

V
Veterinary Technology
by Marjorie Leta - Last Updated Feb 20, 2012
A guide to library resources for Vet Tech students at MCC.

W
Women Filmmakers
by Janell Pierce - Last Updated Dec 22, 2011
A guide to print and electronic resources for the study of women filmmakers.

World Dance
by Serene Rock - Last Updated Feb 3, 2012

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian link
Ask a Librarian
Any time - Any Where



Reference Desk
480 461 7004

Red Mountain Reference
480 654 7740 

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Receive Email Updates

Featured Librarian