Career Exploration Resources:
There are a variety of sources you can access to explore careers in exercise science. Here are a few:
Library Databases:
- Ferguson's Career Guidance CenterA career research database providing detailed and up-to-date profiles of more than 3,000 jobs in more than 94 industries.
- Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)Provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Open Web Resources:
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)The US Bureau of Labor & Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
- CareerOneStop This link opens in a new windowSponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, CareerOneStop's mission is to deliver integrated, easy-to-understand workforce information that helps job seekers, students, workers, workforce intermediaries, and employers develop their capacity and make sound economic decisions in the new economy.
- O*NET Online This link opens in a new windowO*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
Books and eBooks @ The MCC Library:
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance by Call Number: REF HF5381 .E52 2018ISBN: 9780816085149Publication Date: 2018-10-30A six-volume print resource for career exploration and planning. Comprehensive career information, sidebars, and user-friendly features, including the Career Ladder, which shows common career paths for each profession, provide a clear picture of what it takes to launch a successful career. Called out by graphic icons are the top fastest-growing careers, the highest-paying jobs, and the top careers that experts predict will add the greatest number of positions. Extensive Online References and Sidebars More than 4,000 websites are listed in the career field and profession articles and refer users to professional associations, government agencies, and other organizations.
Careers in Sports Medicine and Training by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1682179230Publication Date: 2018-10-30Understanding the wide scope of jobs for those interested in sports medicine and training is important for anyone preparing for a career that involves both traditional careers in medicine, therapy, and training like cardiologist, podiatrist, and surgeon; massage therapist, personal trainer; rehabilitation counsellors; and acupuncturists and massage therapists. This title includes lengthy chapters on a broad range of occupations, including Cardiologist, Chiropractor, Exercise Physiologist, Health Coach, Neuropsychologist, and Sport Psychologist. Careers in Sports Medicine & Training is enhanced with numerous charts and tables, including projections from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics, and median annual salaries or wages for those occupations profiled. Interesting enhancements, like Fun Facts, Famous Firsts, and dozens of photos, add depth to the discussion. Additional highlights in the book include Conversation With - a two-page interview with a professional working in a related job - that offer insight into specific areas of sports medicine and training.
Professional Organizations for Exercise Science
Following are links to Professional Organizations related to fields in Exercise Science. Through these organizations you can find educational, networking and job opportunities along with information regarding conferences and meetings:
American Board of Physical Therapy Specialists (ABPTS)
American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)
American Physical Therapy Association (APTA)
American Physiological Society (APS)