Boolean Logic
For better search results, try Boolean Operators!
AND connects terms and narrows the search
OR expands the search (finds either term)
NOT use to exclude terms
For example:
Phrase Searching - Use Quotes
When searching on phrases or titles, use quotes!
For example:
"Wuthering Heights"
"to be or not to be"
"genetically modified foods"
Truncation
To look for variations of a root word, try truncation!
For example:
teach* will search for teach, teacher, teaching, etc.
teen* will search for teen, teens, teenagers, etc.
Need to find articles for a research paper? You've come to the right place!
To locate articles published in magazines, newspapers and journals, search MCC's eResources. To start searching MCC's eResources now, click HERE!
What are eResources? "eResources" is a general term used to identify collections of information you can search electronically to locate the information you need - also referred to as databases. MCC's eResources are a collection of subscription databases that provide you access to thousands of magazines, newspapers, journals, streaming films, images and books. Library databases provide access to reliable, authoritative, and scholarly sources of information appropriate for college level research.
When accessing MCC's eResources from off-campus, you will be prompted to input your MEID and password.
MCC subscribes to over 150 databases. The following are a few popular databases you can search to find magazine, journal and newspaper articles. All of these databases are accessible from off campus with your MEID and password. To search ALL of the MCC library databases (eResources) click HERE.
Academic OneFile - General, multi-disciplinary database with full-text
Academic Search Premier - General, multi-disciplinary database with full-text
JSTOR - A database of over 1,000 academic journals and primary sources covering all disciplines.
Business Source Premier - Business focused database including articles, company profiles and industry profiles
Credo Reference - An extensive reference database providing full-text access to encyclopedias, dictionaries handbooks and more!
General OneFile - General, multi-disciplinary database with full-text
Biography in Context - Extensive database of biographies
Issues & Controversies - A 'hot topic' database of opponent and supporter arguments on current issues and controversies. Overviews, statistics, and data included for most issues.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context - An extensive database covering controversial and social issues. Content includes viewpoint essays, magazine and news articles and reference resources.
CQ Researcher - Access full-text research reports on hot topics.
US Major Dailies - Search for current news articles published in the nations 5 topic newspapers including The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.