Skip to main content

Database Tutorials and Guides

Database Vendor Tutorial Videos, Guides, Links, PDFs & More

EBSCOhost Databases

EBSCO

EBSCOhost provides multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. The Library's subscription to EBSCO is geared to academic research.

Access EBSCO Databases:

Authentication required.

 

EBSCOhost User Aids

Help Sheet (4-page Word document)

How to find key articles on your research topic

 

General Tutorials (Flash)

Intro to EBSCOhost (4:04 min)

 

This tutorial provides an overview of the EBSCOhost interface.

Advanced Search - Guided Style (3:11 min)
Learn how to conduct an advanced search using EBSCOhost's Guided Style Find Fields, as well as applying limiters and expanders.

Advanced Search - Single Find (2:39 min)
Learn how to conduct an advanced search using EBSCOhost's Single Find Field, as well as applying limiters and expanders.

Basic Search (2:36 min)
This tutorial demonstrates how to conduct a search from the EBSCOhost Basic Search screen.

Creating a Search Alert (2:11 min)
Learn how to create a search alert in EBSCOhost with this tutorial.

My EBSCOhost (4:51 min)
This tutorial demonstrates how to set up and make the most of My EBSCOhost, a free personalization folder.

Reading an Article in EBSCOhost (2:54 min)
This tutorial focuses on the features in the EBSCOhost Detailed Record, including how to read an article.

Result List (5:48 min)
This tutorial looks at the features of the EBSCOhost Result List, including refining your results with limiters and subject clusters.

 

Product-Specific Tutorials & Guides (Flash, PowerPoint, PDF)

Biography Reference Center (5:40 min)

Business Source Premier: Business Searching Interface (4:18 min)
This Flash tutorial explains basic searching and browsing in business records.

CINAHL (PPT)
This PowerPoint tutorial explains basic and advanced searching features of this nursing and allied health database.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text Basic Searching (4:04 min)
Learn how to conduct a basic search for nursing and allied health literature, as well as how to access Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Modules in this Flash tutorial.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text Advanced Searching (4:13 min)
Learn how to make the most of the CINAHL headings with advanced search, as well as how to access Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Modules in this Flash tutorial.

eBooks on EBSCOhost - Downloading (4 min)
This Flash tutorial explains how to download electronic books.

eBooks on EBSCOhost - Searching (4 min)
Learn how to search and read eBooks in this Flash tutorial.

PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
This quick reference guide from the American Psychological Association demonstrates how to search PsycINFO in Advanced Search mode.

PsycINFO - How to Find Peer-Reviewed Items (2.5 min)
Learn how to use the Publication Type limiter to locate peer-reviewed items in this Flash tutorial.

Search Database Now

Research databases
Limit Your Results