Skip to main content

Library Services & Resources for Faculty

This guide describes what services and resources are available to faculty, whether they are teaching face-to-face, hybrid, or online classes.

Streaming Media

Streaming Media Collections

The Libraries currently have several streaming video collections. These are quality videos that can be used as instructional materials or suggested to students to use as a source. These collections can be found on our eResources page. To access them from off campus, log in with your MEID and password. The collections include:


Films on Demand contains
8,200 films and 1,000 archive primary source films. These films are broken down into segments for a total of 99,000 video clips. These clips or films can be linked to. You can create playlists and favorites. The videos are closed captioned and include interactive transcripts. These videos show up in the results when searching the Library Catalog.
 


Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. This release now provides 1,018 titles, equaling approximately 803 hours. You can link to these videos and create playlists.

 

Wondering how you can use feature films in your courses and not violate copyright? Swank Digital Campus provides popular films that are available to stream through your course management system. See a guide to using this resource at Swank Digital Campus. Contact Janell Alewyn for more information: 480-461-7266 or janell.alewyn@mesacc.edu.
Example of films we have had: Annie Hall, Beauty and the Beast (1987), Breakfast Club, Dead Poet’s Society, The King’s Speech, Million Dollar Baby, To Kill a Mockingbird, Transformers, Working Girls.
 

media education foundation streaming videos

Streaming video from Media Education Foundation includes over 100 documentaries designed "to inspire critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media." Topics include gender, health, politics, race, and commercialism. Films are amply supported with study guides, transcripts, subtitles, handouts, and articles. A rich resource for faculty in advertising/marketing, business, communications, criminal justice, cultural anthropology, education, political science, psychology, sociology, social work, women's studies and more.

Streaming Video Tutorials

To find these databases from the Library's homepage, click on eResources on the left side of the screen. A list of all of our databases will be provided. Under the Category tab, they will be under Video & Film.