This is the "Southwest Collection at Mesa Community College" page of the "Southwest Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A Guide to the Southwest Collection at the Paul A. Elsner Library at Mesa Community College.
Last Updated: Dec 21, 2011 URL: http://mesacc.libguides.com/southwest Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Southwest Collection at Mesa Community College Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Streaming Videos

Over 8000 high-quality educational video titles in dozens of subject areas viewable with any web browser.

Click here to access this resource.


 

About the Southwest Collection

The Southwest Studies Reading Room Collection was established to focus on and support the study of the American Southwest at Mesa Community College.

The collection features a wide scope of southwestern materials including History, Natural History, Geography, Cultural Sciences, Ethnic Studies, and Art and Humanities.

The Southwest Studies Reading Room also functions as a center for Southwest Studies related programs as well as other events that significantly contribute to the academic dialogue of the college. The room is located on the 3rd floor of the Paul A. Elsner Library at Mesa Community College.

 

 

Electronic books related to the Southwest

Cover Art
Fetching the Old Southwest : humorous writing from Longstreet to Twain / James H. Justus.
Introduction -- pt. 1. Mythmakers and revisionists: The myth of the ruined homeland. Southwest humor and the cordon sanitaire -- pt. 2. The world the humorists found: Migrating for fun and profit. Creation states and how they are used up. Fetching Arkansas. Southwest humor and the other. Scenes in course and field. River culture -- pt. 3. The world the humorists made: Authorship and amateurism. The languages of Southwest humor. Narrators and storytellers. Droll specimens and comfortable types. The yokel as social critic. Making game with Simon Suggs. The world according to Sut -- Afterword.

Also available in print.
Call No. PS437 .J87 2004

 
 

How to find Materials in the Southwest Collection

There are two ways to locate Southwest Collection books:

1. Browse in the Southwest Reading Room located on the 3rd floor of Paul A. Elsner Library. All the books in the Reading Room have  yellow "Southwest Coll" labels.

2. Search MCC Library Catalog for Southwest related materials 
         
      1.Open MCC Library Catalog
      2. Click on "Advanced Search"
      3. Under the drop down menu for "Collection" choose "Southwest" and click Search to search all Southwest Collection books.  If you want to search for a specific topic, enter it under "words or phrase.
      4. A list of results will come up.  Click the title of a desired book for more information.

 

A Sampling of Books from the Collection

Cover Art
Desert visions and the Making of Phoenix
Call Number: F819.P57 V358 2010
Philip VanderMeer examines the unlikely history of Phoenix, a city that by all environmental logic should not exist. Too hot, too dry, too remote would be a geographer's assessment of the locale; nevertheless, Phoenix has grown into the nation's fifth largest city. The author details how this unlikely city came into being and how it has sustained itself. To understand how such unusual growth occurred in such an improbable location, VanderMeer explores five major themes: the natural environment, urban infrastructure, economic development, social and cultural values, and public leadership.

Cover Art
The desert Southwest : four thousand years of life and art / Allan and Carol Hayes ; photographs by John Blom ; foreword by Anne Woosley.
Call Number: E78.S7 H38 2006
An overview of the cultural history of the desert Southwest, spanning more than 4,000 years, exploring the area's history, peoples, and artistic traditions--with an emphasis on pottery of the region.

Cover Art
Kokopelli : the magic, mirth, and mischief of an ancient symbol / Dennis Slifer ; foreword by R. Carlos Nakai ; introduction by Robert Wayne Mirabal.
Call Number: E99.P9 S585 2007
A guide to the ancient symbols and sites of the Southewest's most iconic image

Cover Art
American Indian cooking : recipes from the Southwest / Carolyn Niethammer ; with a foreword by Ann Woodin ; illustrations by Jenean Thomson.
"A comprehensive survey of basic desert foods and recipes, including pictures and descriptions of the various plants for the intrepid food-gatherer." - Kirkus. "At least once in our life, we should experience the joy of a meal that we ourselves have gathered and prepared from native plants. Carolyn Niethammer coaxes us to walk with her through the deserts, marshes, and mesas of Arizona and New Mexico to collect, clean, dry, and partake of the bountiful harvest of our great Southwest." - The American West.


Cover Art
Indian country : travels in the American Southwest, 1840-1935 / Martin Padget.
Call Number: F786 .P16 2004
ISBN: 0826330282
From Manifest Destiny to Historical Romance: The Southwest in Narratives of Exploration and Travel between the 1840s and 1880s -- John Wesley Powell's Mapping of the Colorado Plateau Region -- Travel Writing, Sentimental Romance, and Indian Rights Advocacy: The Politics of Helen Hunt Jackson's Ramona -- Travel, Exoticism, and the Writing of Region: Charles Fletcher Lummis and the "Creation" of the Southwest -- Burbank among the Indians: The Politics of Patronage -- Indian Detours off the Beaten Track: Cultural Tourism and the Southwest -- Conclusion: Reflections on Traveling through the Southwest.

Cover Art
Buffalo Woman - Goble, Paul
Call Number: E98.F6 G62 1986 - Southwest Juvenile
ISBN: 0689711093
A young hunter draws his bow against a buffalo cow drinking from a stream. Before he can loose his arrow, there is no buffalo -- instead, there stands a beautiful young woman, whom he knows he must marry.The hunter's people shun the Buffalo Woman, and so she returns, with their son, Calf Boy, to her people. The hunter's heart compels him to follow. But he has been warned: The Buffalo Nation is angry at the Straight-up-People. And if he cannot find his wife and son among the many buffalo, they will be lost to him forever.

 

Journal Literature

The Library subscribes to KIVA: Journal of Southwestern Anthropology and History and Journal of the West: An Illustrated Quarterly Devoted to Western History and Culture. Most recent issues of these journals are located in the Periodical Reading Room, 1st floor, Elsner Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip