Finding Articles
Library databases are a reliable source for locating journal articles, however, there are many open access resources that provide full text access to thousands of journals and publications. Recommended library databases and open access resources are identified on this page to help you with your research.
Library Databases
MCC subscribes to a variety of databases that provide access to thousands of journals. To view the comprehensive list of all library databases MCC subscribes to, choose the eResources link from the library home page. Below is a list of recommended databases for researching topics related to substance abuse (off-campus access requires an MEID and password).
- Academic OneFile (Gale)Includes peer-reviewed, full-text, scholarly content across all academic disciplines.
- Academic Search PremierThe largest academic database with over 4000 full text peer-reviewed scholarly journals covering all academic disciplines.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextProvides full text articles from 580 nursing and allied health journals. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)Contains current information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionScholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
- MEDLINEProvides access to biomedical and health journals. Coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and allied health.
- Ovid Nursing, Allied Health, Kinesiology, & Nutrition CollectionCore collection of 23 full text peer reviewed journals in the fields of nursing, allied health, kinesiology, and nutrition with current coverage from at least 2015 to the present.
- PsycARTICLESProvides current full-text psychology, behavioral, and social science academic journal articles.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionProvides access to hundreds of full-text academic journals with extensive coverage in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. Subjects include child and adolescent psychology, various areas of counseling, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods, and psychiatry and psychology.
- PsycINFO 1887-CurrentA collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts.
- Science DirectA full-text science, technology, and medical periodicals database.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)Provides contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- Issues & ControversiesExplores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Offers in-depth articles presenting both sides of an issue clearly, coherently, and without bias based on key facts, arguments, history, and current context.
Open Access Resources
Open access resources are databases and journals that are searchable and accessible to anyone via an internet connection. They are freely accessible and do not require a paid subscription. Open access resources are often identified with an open lock like the image below:
The links below include recommended open access sources for researching topics on substance abuse:
- AddictionAddiction publishes peer-reviewed research reports on pharmalogical and behavioural addictions, bringing together research conducted within many different disciplines. The publication is an official journal of the Society for the Study of Addiction, and has been in publication since 1884. **Only select reports are open access.
- Addiction Science & Clinical PracticeAddiction Science & Clinical Practice provides a forum for clinically relevant research and perspectives that contribute to improving the quality of care for people with unhealthy alcohol, tobacco, or other drug use and addictive behaviors across a spectrum of clinical settings.
- Addictive Behaviors ReportThis open access, peer-reviewed journal is online only and offers an interdisciplinary forum for the publication of research in addictive behaviors. The journal accepts submissions that are scientifically sound on all forms of addictive behavior (alcohol, drugs, gambling, Internet, nicotine and technology) with a primary focus on behavioral and psychosocial research. The emphasis of the journal is primarily empirical. That is, sound experimental design combined with valid, reliable assessment and evaluation procedures are a requisite for acceptance.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
- PLOS OnePLOS One is a peer-reviewed open access scientific journal published by the Public Library of Science since 2006. The journal covers primary research from any discipline within science and medicine.
- PubMedPubMed is the world's leading free database for biomedical and life sciences research containing over 34 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Full text journal articles are linked from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).