Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Exercise Science & Physical Education

A guide to library and internet resources in Exercise Science and Physical Education

Online Journals and Magazines

MCC eResources:

There are numerous databases available through the MCC Libraries that index magazines and journals for exercise science related topics. View all databases available by clicking HERE. The following are a few select databases that are great for Exercise Science research:

1. Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection - A comprehensive collection of periodicals supporting physical therapy and sports medicine. 

2. Medline - the largest biomedical/health article database in the world. Excellent coverage of exercise science and sport science. Full text is limited.

3. Academic Search Premier - a multidisciplinary scholarly database with coverage of biological and exercise sciences and issues relating to these fields.

4. Academic One File - a multidisciplinary peer-reviewed database with coverage of medicine, science and technology.

5. Science Full Text Select - an applied science and technology database that includes ample coverage of exercise science and kinesiology related journals.

6. Education Research Complete - an education focused scholarly database. A good resource if you're researching on physical education.

7. ScienceDirect - search and access Elsevier science journals, books and reference works.

8. CINAHL Plus with FullText - a nursing and allied health database including exercise science content.

9. Health Source Nursing/Academic - an essential source for nursing and health research. Includes pediatrics, mental health, critical care and more. 

10. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences - search over 500 journals in the field of psychology and behavioral sciences. Great resource if your researching topics on mental health and exercise science.

11. PsycArticles - Search over 100 journals from the American Psychological Association (APA) in the field of behavioral sciences. Great resource if your researching topics on mental health and exercise science.

12. PsycInfo - Indexes over 2,500 journals in the fields of behavioral sciences and mental health. Great resource if your researching topics on mental health and exercise science. Full text is limited.

The above databases can be accessed from off campus using your MEID and password.

Open Access Databases:

1. PubMed- An excellent resource for exercise science and kinesiology! Provides free and open access to millions of citations in the biomedical field. Links to full-text content may be included with many citations.

2. DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals- Provides free and open access to a variety of peer reviewed journals in most disciplines.

Browsing Journals Online

You may also want to browse some of the exercise science journals to which we subscribe to online through the databases. All of the following journals are available free full text (date ranges of full text may vary):

American Journal of Health Education

American Journal of Public Health

American Journal of Sports Medicine 

Journal of Sports Science and Medicine

Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance

Physical Educator

Measurement in Physical Education and Exercise Science

Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport

Journal of Strength & Conditioning Research

Looking for articles published in the Journal of Strength & Conditioning Research?

Access full text content from 2004 - present through MCC's online subscription:

Journal of Strength & Conditioning

View the list of current articles below:

Loading ...

Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise

Looking for articles published in the journal Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise?

Access full text content from 2004 - present through MCC's online subscription:

Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise

View the list of current articles below:

Loading ...