Skip to main content

Psychology

This guide will introduce students to psychology resources, both print & electronic.

Current issue of Journal of Cross Cultural Psychology

Loading ...

PsycINFO News

Loading ...

Search Tips

Use Boolean operators to help prevent road blocks

"and" connects terms and narrows the search
"or" expands the search (finds either term)
"not" use to exclude terms


For example:

  • waterboarding and prisoner abuse
  • internet gambling and addiction
  • methamphetamine and women and abuse
  • dating or courtship
  • (television not films) and children and effects

Finding older paper journals

Most copies of older paper journals are located on the 3rd floor of the main library. Exceptions include instances where the journal is on microfiche or microfilm. These are located on the 1st floor Current Periodical Room.

Current journals and magazines are kept in the Current Periodical Room, 1st floor of main library. They arranged alphabetical by title with the current publication facing outward. To browse the past year lift up the metal shelf.

Copy Machines

You can make copies for 10 cents a page (cash only).

Copy machines are located on each floor.

Electronic Resources (databases)

MCC subscribes to 3 wonderful psychology databases.

You can search these 3 database simultaneously! Go into either PSYCArticles or Psych & Behavioral Sciences then click on "Choose Databases" (located above & to the right of the search box). Then check off the other 2 databases and you're ready to roll!

Other general databases that might be useful

We also subscribe to the electronic, single title periodical Journal of Cross Cultural Psychology.

Psychology Journals

Here are a few psychology journals to which we subscribe to in paper format:

American Journal of Psychology (full text available 1993-2000 in Academic OneFile. Print available for past 10 year).

American Psychologist (1976 to present. Print only)

Journal of Abnormal Psychology (1976 to present. Print only)

Journal of Consulting & Clinical Psychology (current 10 years in print)

Journal of Personality (1945 to present fulltext in Psych & Behav. Science, last 12 months not available electronically. Past 5 years available in print).

Psychology Today (available 1992-2000 in microfiche, past 5 years in print).

 

We have over 300 psychology journals available electronically; they are indexed in our electronic resources.

Bells n' whistles

You can do many things to make your search more specific. Here are a few tips!

  • Limit to full text
  • Limit to peer-reviewed articles
  • Limit by date
  • Search only what is available at MCC in paper or retreive fulltext (look for the "MESA COMM COLL LIB EBS" box)
  • Search within a specific publication or journal.

APA Databases Methodology Field Values

APA Citation Help

From home...

You can access electronic books from home.

You will be asked to login with your MEID & password.

Don't know your MEID or your password? Go here.