Skip to main content

Art

This guide will help art students locate art resources (including images).

Access from off-campus

You can access electronic books from home.

You will be asked to login with your MEID & password.

Don't know your MEID or your password? Go here.

Search tips!

Use Boolean operators to help prevent road blocks

"and" connects terms and narrows the search
"or" expands the search (finds either term)
"not" use to exclude terms


For example:

  • Marino Marini AND sculpture
  • Leonardo Da Vinci AND self portrait

Finding articles and images

When you search these resources will find journal, magazine & newpaper articles.

Suggestions databases or electronic resources:

ArtStor is a database of almost one million images that includes descriptive information covering sculpture, painting, architecture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual and material culture.

Biography Resource Center -great for quick biographies

Academic OneFile -great, large general database.

Academic Search Premier -great, large general database.

Masterfile Premier -great general database, contains mostly full text.


Bells n' whistles

You can do many things to make your article search more specific. Here are a few tips!

  • Limit to full text
  • Limit to peer-reviewed articles
  • Limit by date
  • Search only what is available at MCC in paper or retreive fulltext (look for the "MESA COMM COLL LIB EBS" box)
  • Search within a specific publication or journal.