Skip to main content

Fashion, Textiles and Clothing

Use this guide for research help in fashion, fashion history, fashion design, fashion culture and textiles.

Library Databases for Fashion

Library databases are found through the eResources link on the MCC Library homepage. The following databases will help you find magazine, news and journal articles, eBooks and images in the fields of fashion, clothing, textiles, retailing and merchandising. All of these databases are accessible from off campus with your MEID and password.

‚ÄčAcademic OneFile  

  • General, multi-disciplinary database with full-text
  • Indexes the following publications:
    • Fashion Theory: The Journal of Dress, Body & Culture
    • Vogue
    • W Magazine
Academic Search Premier  
  • General, multi-disciplinary database with full-text
  • Indexes the following publications:
    • Fashion Theory: The Journal Of Dress, Body & Culture
    • Dress (citations and abstracts only)
    • People Magazine

Berg Fashion Library/Bloomsbury Fashion Central

  • A comprehensive fashion resource including e-journals, reference works and museum images. Contains full text access to:
    • Encyclopedia of World Dress & Fashion

JSTOR  

  • A database of over 1,000 academic journals and primary sources covering all disciplines.
  • Indexes the following publications:
    • Feminist Review
    • Journal of Marketing Research
    • Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin
    • Journal of Consumer Research

Gale eBooks

  • A collection of hundreds of reference works including:
    • Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages
    • Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion

General OneFile  

  • General, multi-disciplinary database with full-text
  • Indexes the following publications:
    • Vogue
    • People Weekly
    • W Magazine
  • Business focused database including articles, company profiles and industry profiles
  • Indexes the following publications:
    • Journal of Marketing
    • Journal of Consumer Research
    • International Journal of Consumer Studies
    • WWD: Womens Wear Daily (text only)
    • Fast Company
    • Apparel Magazine
    • Design Issues
    • Journal of Fashion Marketing & Management (citations and abstracts only)

US Major Dailies

  • Access to the nation's leading newspapers
  • Indexes the following newspapers:
    • New York Times
    • LA Times
    • Wall Street Journal

Biography In Context

  • Extensive database of biographies including fashion designers

ARTStor

  • Digital image library including photographs of fashions throughout the ages

Popular Culture Universe

  • American Pop Culture of the 20th century including fashion and beauty

History Reference Center

  • Search articles and reference works on fashion history - includes "The Video Encyclopedia of the 20th Century"

WGSN  

  • Fashion Trend Forecaster
  • Fashion forecasting reports up to 18 months in advance
  • Trend analysis
  • Trade and runway shows
  • Extensive collection of fashion images