Skip to main content

Phone: (623) 845-3112 | Email | Consultations | Feedback

Library Services & Resources for Faculty

This guide describes what services and resources are available to faculty, whether they are teaching face-to-face, hybrid, or online classes.

Books

The Libraries have over 100,00 physical books. The Libraries have many collections. All of the books collections are available for check out by faculty, staff, students, and community members for 4 weeks except for the Reference Collection. To search our book collections, use the Library Catalog.

 

General Collection

The majority of our books are in the General Collection. These books are collected to support the wide range of academic and technical programs we have at MCC.

 

Reference Collection

The Reference Collection is available for use within the library. Print materials can be photocopied for educational purposes under the Copyright Law of the United States.

 

Juvenile & YA Collections

The Juvenile Collection feature books written for young children through teens and is used to support our Education, Early Childhood, and Literature courses. The YA collection is also to provide fun reading for our students and to provide materials to use in various assignments connected to social issues. These collections are on the 2nd floor of the S&D Library.

 

Graphic Novels Collection

The Graphic Novels Collection is also to provide fun reading for our students and to provide materials to use in various assignments connected to social issuesThis collection is on the 2nd floor of the S&D Library.

 

ESL Collection

The ESL Collection supports ESL students in learning and practicing English. This collection is on the 2nd floor of the S&D Library.

 

Faculty Collection

The Faculty Collection consists of books written by faculty here at MCC. It is located on the 2nd floor near the Reference Desk of the S&D Library. If you have written a book that you would like included, please let us know and we will be happy to add it to our collection.

                   

Finding Books, Articles, & More using One Search

You can search for all types of materials such as books, ebooks, articles, and streaming videos using one search box with One Search. This box is located on the Library's homepage under the One Search tab.

Below are a couple of generic videos to help you get started. In the video they say Summons instead of One Search, but it's the same thing.

Finding Physical Books

If you want to find physical books located at MCC, after you do a search in One Search and your list of results comes up, limit it on the left side of the screen to Books/eBooks.

book limit

Then scroll down, click on Library Location, and limit it to Mesa CC Library.

Library Limit