Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Veterinary Technology

A guide to library resources for Vet Tech students at MCC.

Databases

LIBRARY DATABASES

The following databases will be your best resources for locating articles on animal health and veterinary medicine. For a comprehensive list of all the library databases available at MCC, visit the eResources page. To access library databases from off campus, you will be prompted for your MEID and password.

ACADEMIC ONEFILE - a multidisciplinary database covering all areas including medicine, science and technology.

ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER - a multidisciplinary database with coverage of medical and veterinary medical journals.

AGRICULTURE COLLECTION - Provides a comprehensive view of agriculture, veterinary medicine, and related fields with current and authoritative content that spans the industry.

DENTISTRY & ORAL SCIENCES SOURCE - A comprehensive oral health database with coverage of veterinary dental and oral health resources. Provides full-text coverage of The Journal of Veterinary Dentistry.

MEDLINE - the most extensive database of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine. 

NATURE - Full-text access to the international weekly journal of science from 1994 - present. Subject coverage includes Chemistry, Life Sciences, Clinical Practice, and more.

SCIENCE DIRECT - A General science, technology and medicine database providing full-text access to multiple veterinary medical journals including The Veterinary Journal, Veterinary Microbiology, Veterinary Parasitology, Veterinary Immunology & Immunopathology.

SCIENCE FULL TEXT SELECT - an applied science and technology database with veterinary medicine coverage.

SCIENCE ONLINE - access current news and journal articles on general science including health, medicine, and animal science.

OPEN ACCESS DATABASES

The following databases and on-line resources are open access and do not require a login unless indicated.

AGRICOLA - A database of agricultural and animal science articles from the National Agricultural Library. 

PUBMED - On-line index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE and life sciences journals and on-line books. Includes animal health related topics. Some full-text content available through PubMed and publisher web sites. Indexes Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association (JAVMA) and Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association (JAAHA).

Browsing Journals Online

ONLINE VETERINARY MEDICINE JOURNALS

The MCC libraries provide online access to a variety of veterinary medical and animal science journals and magazines. Below is a sampling of some of these titles available through the MCC library databases. (Date ranges of full text availability varies by title) To access additional journals and magazines online, search the MCC Journal Finder. You will be prompted for your MEID and password to access electronic resources remotely.

Animal Science Journal

BMC Veterinary Research

Journal of Animal Breeding and Genetics

Journal of Veterinary Dentistry

Journal of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care

Journal of Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Veterinary Anaesthesia and Analgesia

Veterinary and Comparative Oncology

Veterinary Dermatology

Print Journals

The MCC library subscribes to a variety of print journals and magazines relevant to Veterinary Technology:

JAVMA: Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association

Veterinary Team Brief

Veterinary Economics**

Veterinary Medicine**

(**These two titles merged in late 2015 to create Vetted, an online publication including practical advice and cutting-edge veterinary medical information.)

Additional Publications of Interest:

Arizona Wildlife Views

Bird Talk

Catnip: The Newsletter for Caring Cat Owners

Cat Watch

Dog Watch

Equus

Horse Illustrated

Current and back issues of these and other journals and magazine can be found in Periodicals on the third floor of the library.