Skip to main content

ENG 102 / ENG 108: Research Papers, Literary Criticism & Annotated Bibliographies

This guide has been designed for MCC students taking English 102. It serves as a starting point for the research paper assignment. Use the tabs at the top of the guide to get started finding, using and evaluating information for your assignments.

Finding Articles

Need to find articles for your paper? You've come to the right place!

To locate articles published in magazines, newspapers and journals, search MCC's eResources. You can find the link for eResources from MCC's library homepage. Look for the box with the blue tabs in the middle of the website.

To view an A-Z list of MCC's eResources, click HERE!

What are eResources? "eResources" is a general term we use in 'library land' to identify collections of information you can search electronically to locate the information you need - also referred to as databases. MCC's eResources are a collection of subscription databases that provide you access to thousands of magazines, newspapers, journals, streaming films, images and books. Much of what you find searching MCC's eResources is not freely available on the open web and only accessible to you as a student! Using library databases to research allows you to focus on just published material (such as magazines, journals and books) excluding much of the junk you would find on the open web such as blogs, wikis, personal websites, advertisements, etc. which can contain questionable information. Library databases provide access to reliable, authoritative, and scholarly sources of information appropriate for college level research.

When accessing MCC's eResources from off-campus, you will be prompted to input your MEID and password.

Choosing a Database

How do you choose which database to search?

MCC provides access to over 150 different databases that cover all topics and disciplines including a variety of sources such as articles from magazines and journals as well as films, eBooks and images. Your database choice will be based on two basic components:

  1. Subject - your topic choice
  2. Type - format of the information you need (films, books, news articles, journal articles, etc.)

When you visit the eResources page, databases are organized "By Subject" (general topic/discipline covered within the database) and "By Type" (eBooks, images, newspapers, etc.) You may want to begin searching the databases organized under "General" as these database provide access to a full range of topics covered in a variety of information formats. The databases listed below are a few general databases that include content on just about every topic: