Databases
The Library currently subscribes to 53 periodical databases, including both multidisciplinary and subject specific databases. The vast majority of the materials within the databases are full text that students can print, save, email, or download.
The library also has 4 full text electronic book collections and 2 streaming video collections.
All of our eResources are available for students and instructors to access from off campus. They must log in with their MEID (Maricopa Enterprise ID).
The Library's eResources page is at http://www.mesacc.edu/library/eresources.
Library Catalog
Students can search the catalog to locate books, electronic books (ebooks), streaming videos, and more. Students can view ebooks and streaming videos online. They can come in to check out books or request books to be sent to any of the MCCCD campus libraries nearest them.
Ebrary
60,000 academic titles. Can create an account to build bookshelves, share bookshelves, make notes, highlight, and download.
EBSCO Ebook Collection
70,000 academic nonfiction titles and some children's titles to supplement children's collections owned by some of the college libraries. Includes cover art and an option to browse discipline collections.
Credo Reference
Over 605 reference books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 300 reference books. We recently added 42 new discipline-specific encyclopedia sets to the collection. Most of the new editions have 2011 and 2012 publication dates.
Films on Demand
Streaming videos (From Films Media Group-FMG)
8,200 films
1,000 archive primary source films99,000 video clips
Numerous instructional tools, widgets, iPad, create playlists, etc.
Filmaker's Library Online
Streaming videos (From Alexander Street Press)
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. This release now provides 1,018 titles, equaling approximately 803 hours.
eResource Features
No special reader or hardware required for the ebooks.
Unlimited simultaneous use.
Ability to print, e-mail, and download articles.
Instructors can create persistent links to link to specific databases or to specific material within databases in their online courses.