ECN211 Macroeconomics / Cavalcant
Defining Macroeconomics:
|
Gale Encyclopediasssssssss |
Macroeconomic analysis focuses on large-scale factors affecting national and global economies, including production and consumption of goods, employment, imports, exports, and business cycles. Macroeconomists study the relationships between these factors and develop predictions of future economic activity. Governments often use these predictions as the foundation for developing economic policy. Gale Encylopedia of U.S. Economic History, 2015, Credo Reference |
Your Macro Mission:
- 1000 word research paper (3-4 pages double spaced, 12 point font)
- 5 academic sources
- MLA Citations
- Addressing economic schools of thought, comparative economic systems, and key economic theorists and thinkers!
Identify Keywords:
| Schools of Thought | Systems | People | Topics |
| Keynesian | Capitalism | Adam Smith | Monetary/fiscal policy |
| Austrian | Command | John Maynard Keynes | Inflation |
| Free Market | Mixed | Ludwig Von Mises | Unemployment |
| What else? | What else? | Who else? | GDP/ Growth, What else? |
Use AND/OR:
Use AND between different ideas and concept: inflation AND unemployment
--> Fewer results that are more refined
Use OR between similar ideas and concepts: inflation OR hyperinflation OR rise in prices
--> More results on same topic area
Other Search Tips:
Use quotation marks to force a phrase search: "John Maynard Keynes", "mixed economy"
Use parentheses to organize your search: (inflation OR hyperinflation) AND unemployment AND "mixed economy"
Use keywords to search the following:
Reference Databases (background reading):
- Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers
- Credo Academic Core
- Gale eBooks
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Books/ebooks (background and contextual reading):
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Enter keywords into the Library Catalog for physical books
Databases (research, streaming, and scholarly articles):
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
- Business (Gale OneFile)
- Business Source Premier
- Economics & Theory (Gale OneFile)
- Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile)
- Gale Business: Insights
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
- The World Factbook, CIA
- CQ Researcher
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
- Issues & Controversies
Journal Finder (individual economic journals):
- 425 individual ejournal titles related to the subject of economics
OneSearch (searches all of the MCC Library databases at once):
- Change your keywords and left hand limiters on this search to update the results
Advanced Google Search: Add site:.edu, site:.org or site:.gov to any search to retrieve more credible and scholarly sources
- See the results for this search: macroeconomics site:.edu OR site:.org OR site:.gov
Popular and scholarly literature can both be credible (that is, trustworthy and reliable against their implied objectives) and thus perfectly acceptable for college level research. However, there are important differences:
|
Popular
|
Scholarly | |
| Purpose: | Written to inform, entertain, or persuade | Academic or scientific research, informative |
| Content: | Broad subjects, general interest | Original research or analysis; specific subject or discipline |
| Audience: | General readership | Specialists, scholars, professionals in a field |
| Author: | Staff, freelance writers | Experts, scholars |
| Format & Style: | Short articles with photos or illustrations; everyday language; includes advertising | Lengthy articles with tables, charts, graphs; technical language; little or no advertising |
| References: | No bibliographic references; may refer to studies within text | Documented research with footnotes and/or bibliography |
| Review Process: | Reviewed by editor | Peer-reviewed (or refereed) - reviewed by board of experts |
 |
 |
Scholarly articles are often required in college level research. They are usually published in peer reviewed journals and written for experts and researchers, including college students. Until you get used to them, they can feel overwhelming to read and understand. However, there are some simple strategies that make the process much easier. Watch one or both of the short videos, below, to pick up these tips.
Practice Articles
Article A:
Ramey, Valerie A., and Sarah Zubairy. “Government Spending Multipliers in Good Times and in Bad: Evidence from US Historical Data.” Journal of Political Economy, vol. 126, no. 2, Apr. 2018, pp. 850–901. EBSCOhost, https://doi-org.ezp.mesacc.edu/10.1086/696277.
Article B:
Yen, Chia‐Yi, and Yu‐Hsi Chou. “Understanding the Macroeconomic Impact of Illiquidity Shocks in the United States.” Economic Inquiry, vol. 58, no. 3, July 2020, pp. 1245–78. EBSCOhost, https://doi-org.ezp.mesacc.edu/10.1111/ecin.12890.
Article C:
Capps O Jr. Dynamics of macroeconomic factor effects on food assistance program participation in the United States. PLoS One. 2022 Jun 13;17(6):e0269442. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0269442. PMID: 35696377; PMCID: PMC9191738.
Article D:
Biswas, Amrijit, et al. "Forecasting the United State Dollar(USD)/Bangladeshi Taka (BDT) exchange rate with deep learning models: Inclusion of macroeconomic factors influencing the currency exchange rates." PLoS ONE, vol. 18, no. 2, 7 Feb. 2023, p. e0279602. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A736170357/OVIC?u=mcc_mesa&sid=summon&xid=5b3523eb. Accessed 16 Oct. 2023.
Article E:
Iania, Leonardo, et al. "The Impact of Uncertainty in Macroeconomic Variables on Stock Returns in the USA." Journal of Risk and Financial Management, vol. 16, no. 3, Mar. 2023, p. NA. Gale Academic OneFile, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A752157973/AONE?u=mcc_mesa&sid=summon&xid=8de8c04b. Accessed 16 Oct. 2023.