Types of Information Sources
When scholars or researchers want to publish their research and findings in a journal, they submit their work to what is called a peer-review process. Their article is sent to other scholars in the same field who analyze it and make sure it is of high quality, relevant, valid, and not just one person's opinion. They then send it back for revisions or approve it for publication. Journal articles may also be called as scholarly articles, peer-reviewed articles, or academic articles.
Why Use a Journal |
Characteristics of a Journal |
|---|---|
|
|
Examples
- American Journal of Nursing
- Critical Care Nurse
- Critical Care Research and Practice
- Journal for Nurse Practitioners
- Journal of Hospice and Palliative Nursing
-
Nursing made incredibly easy!
Magazines publish information about a topic about a week after an event occurs and in most cases do not provide in-depth research. The focus of magazines are usually on general topics and topics of interest to specific groups such as music, sports, exercise, fashion, or home decorating fans. They are generally published weekly or monthly, but could be published semi-monthly or several times a year.
Why Use a Magazine |
Characteristics of a Magazine |
|---|---|
|
|
Examples
- Nursing Times
- Arthritis Today
- Harvard Heart Letter
- Today's Health
Newspapers report on a topic generally the day after an event occurs. They are generally published daily, but can be published weekly or bi-weekly. They can also focus nationally or locally, including to a particular state or city.
Why Use a Newspaper |
Characteristics of a Newspaper |
|---|---|
|
|
Examples
- New York Times
- Wall Street Journal
- Arizona Republic
Trade publications publishes information that is of interest to members of a particular profession or industry such as educators, lawyers, welders, law enforcement, etc. They generally cover recent developments in the field or summarize latest research findings in the field. Trade publications are sometimes referred to as trade journals.
Why Use a Trade Publication |
Characteristics of a Trade Publication |
|---|---|
|
|
Examples
- Nursing Standard
- National Nurse
- Variety
- Advertising Age
Books are great information resources but are not good if you need the latest information on a topic. It takes about a year (or longer) for a book to get published, so by the time you have the book in your hand, the information in that book is at least a year out of date.
Reference books |
Books |
|---|---|
|
Reference books are helpful for:
|
Books are helpful for:
|
Here are a few samples of print books available.
Nursing Professionals by
Welcome to the nursing field If you are interested in a career as a nurse, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Nursing Professionals: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. - RNs - LPNs - Nurse Practitioners - Nursing Assistants - Orderlies
Call Number: RT42 .E53 2020ISBN: 9781538133118Publication Date: 2020
Developing Clinical Judgment for Practical/Vocational Nursing and the Next-Generation NCLEX-PN® Examination by
Get ready to pass the Next-Generation NCLEX-PN® Examination (NGN-PN) on your first try with Developing Clinical Judgment for Practical/Vocational Nursing and the Next-Generation NCLEX-PN® Examination. Written by renowned nursing education expert Donna D. Ignatavicius and a team of expert item writers, this practical workbook focuses on developing the clinical reasoning skills you need to succeed on the NGN-PN and in clinical practice. This collection of engaging and practical thinking exercises has been carefully developed to incorporate the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) Clinical Judgment Measurement Model (CJMM) and to emphasize the new item types that will be integral to the NGN-PN. Exercises range from basic to more complex and address all key content areas to fully prepare you for all facets of the exam. This "next-generation" workbook will become an invaluable companion throughout nursing school, helping you grow your clinical reasoning skills to match what's expected on the NGN-PN! Innovative workbook format helps you prepare for the Next-Generation NCLEX-PN® Exam (NGN-PN) through practical thinking exercises that challenge you to apply the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) Clinical Judgment Measurement Model to common clinical scenarios. A comprehensive collection of carefully developed clinical reasoning exercises range from basic to more complex and address all key content areas. Logical three-part organization: Part 1 is an introduction to clinical judgment with examples of how to approach the thinking exercises in the workbook. Part 2 consists of exercises that focus on applying clinical judgment for clients across the lifespan experiencing commonly occurring physical and mental health problems. Part 3 consists of exercises that focus on applying clinical judgment for older-adult clients, a main focus of care for LPN/LVNs. A robust quizzing engine on the companion Evolve website features all of the book's questions in an interactive format to provide a realistic simulated test-taking experience and feedback for remediation An extensive answer key with detailed rationales provides essential review and remediation.
Call Number: RT55 .I36 2022ISBN: 9780323761970Publication Date: 2021
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
Second Edition Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a concise, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the fundamentals of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information. The third edition is updated to deliver the most current information on research methods, database upgrades, and new resources. The reference serves as a succinct companion for students in EBP courses and provides practicing nurses with a resource for developing EBP on their units. It equips bedside nurses with fundamental concepts and explains basic research terms and how to conduct literature searches to "find the evidence." The third edition continues to deliver the most practical information on EBP, including how to get the best evidence quickly, using various databases, and coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and abundant examples demonstrate concepts. This classroom-tested book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question," which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Third Edition: Updated with current information on research methods and new resources"Finding the Evidence" chapter completely updated with the latest databases and search enginesIncludes two new chapters, "The Iowa Model of Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Quality Care" and "Evidence-Based Practice in the Nurse Residency Program"Aligns with projects that are required by many undergraduate programs and residency/internship programs for new nursesIncorporates the Iowa Model of EBP into developing the project format Key Features: Provides step-by-step methods to implement evidence-based practiceIncludes examples of how hospitals and healthcare providers are integrating EBP into their practiceIncludes extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care, with examples and cases to show readers practical application of contentReviews basic terms and principlesPresents quantitative and qualitative research approachesHas been classroom tested and used in both live and online course formats
Call Number: RT81.5 .G63 2020ISBN: 9780826166234Publication Date: 2019
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 7th Edition provides a complete, all-in-one review of the information that you need to know. Written in an easy-to-read outline format, this study guide reviews content by concepts and clinical areas. Along the way, valuable tips from HESI® help you apply principles of clinical decision-making and clinical judgment. With more than 1,000 practice questions in both study and exam formats, the companion Evolve website enables you to practice test-taking in the same electronic format you will experience on nursing school exit exams and on the NCLEX-RN exam. HESI Hint boxes spotlight important clinical information and concepts commonly tested on the NCLEX-RN exam. Over 1,000 practice questions for the NCLEX on the companion Evolve website include alternate item formats to provide a testing experience similar to the HESI Exit and NCLEX exams. Chapters organized by clinical area enable you to easily search for various review topics. Clinical judgment study questions and tables with rationales reinforce key concepts and content. Fill-in-the-blank and prioritizing questions mirror the alternate item format item types included on the NCLEX-RN exam. Pharmacology tables highlight the need-to-know drug therapy content emphasized on the NCLEX-RN exam. Consistent format and chapter organization make it easy to move between topics when reviewing. NEW! Thoroughly revised content incorporates clinical updates and reflects the latest Next-Generation NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Questions for the Next-Generation NCLEX (NGN) prepare you for the biggest change to the NCLEX-RN test plan to date. NEW! All-new editorial board rejuvenates this classic text with fresh perspectives and expertise to make a great book even better. ENHANCED! Evolve companion website features more than 100 new questions in alternate item format, for NGN, and more to provide you with additional test-taking practice.
Call Number: RT55 .H47 2024ISBN: 9780323831932Publication Date: 2023
Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-RN® Exam by
Who says studying for the NCLEX® can't be fun? Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-RN® Exam, 11th Edition uses colorful drawings and mnemonic cartoons to help you review and remember the nursing content found on the NCLEX-RN examination. A concise outline format makes it easier to study key facts, principles, and applications of the nursing process. More than 2,500 NCLEX exam-style questions on the Evolve website allow you to create practice exams, identify your strengths and weaknesses, and review answers and rationales. Written by noted NCLEX expert JoAnn Zerwekh, this study guide provides a visual, unintimidating way to prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN exam. More than 2,500 review questions on the Evolve website allow you to practice test-taking in Study or Exam mode. UNIQUE! Mnemonic cartoons provide a fun, easy way to review and remember key nursing concepts and disease processes. UNIQUE! Integrated systems approach incorporates pediatric, adult, and older adult lifespan considerations for basic nursing care concepts. UNIQUE! Appendixes in each chapter summarize diagnostic tests, medications, and nursing procedures for quick reference. Answers and rationales are provided for all review questions. Alternate item format questions on Evolve prepare you for the interactive question types on the NCLEX examination, including priority, drag-and-drop, and hot-spot questions. Priority Concepts at the beginning of each chapter focus your attention on the chapter's key nursing concepts. Nursing Priority boxes make it easier to distinguish priorities of nursing care. Test Alert boxes highlight concepts frequently found on the NCLEX test plan. Pharmacology tables make key drug information easy to find, with high-alert medications noted by a special icon. Special icons distinguish pediatric and adult disorders, and identify Self-Care and Home Care content. NEW! Patient Scenarios and Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) Examination-Style question types on the Evolve website provide practice with these new types of questions. NEW! Review of the NCSBN's clinical judgment model and six cognitive skills helps to prepare you for the nursing profession and taking the NCLEX-RN® examination. NEW! Pediatric content is moved into a separate new chapter and organized by body systems.
Call Number: RT55 .I45 2023ISBN: 9780323777797Publication Date: 2022
