Skip to main content

Children's Literature

This guide will assist you in doing research in the field of children's literature as well as accessing the library's Juvenile Collection.

The Juvenile Collection

Children's books can be searched through the MCC Library Catalog. The Collection designation for these books is Juvenile. The prefix JUV identifies these materials on the shelves and all JUV books are housed together.

At the Southern & Dobson Campus Library the JUV collection is located on the 2nd floor of the library.  The Caldecott and Newbery Medal books are housed at the end of the Juvenile Collection.

At the Red Mountain Campus Library the JUV collection is against the wall beside the circulating book stacks and the Caldecott and Newbery books are shelved at the end of the Juvenile Collection.

The Caldecott and Newbery Medal books have stickers on their spines that designate them as award winning books.

Below are examples of catalog searches for Juvenile books:

  • Author: Author or Illustrator search

  • Title: Search for a specific work 

  • Keyword: Use of the Keyword JUVENILE will restrict your search to the JUV collection

  • You can combine the Keywords JUVENILE or CHILDREN'S LITERATURE with other words to find children's books: eg. Children's Literature and ABC; Juvenile and Counting

You can request books from any other campus in the Maricopa CC District. Within the LIbrary Catalog, just click on Request Item under the image of the book, enter your MEID and password, select what campus to pick it up at, and click on Place Hold. It will take a few days to come. You will get an email at your student email when it comes in. You can pick it up at the Check Out desk.