Chicano/a Research Collection
Chicano/a Research Collection
The Chicano/a Research Collection is the largest Mexican-American archival collection in the state of Arizona. Established in 1970 in response to the academic needs of both Chicano students and faculty in higher education, the collection serve students, faculty and the community. For more information please visit:
Chicano/a Research Collection Online Collections
The Chicano Experience in Arizona - Online Exhibit
Photos and information about: Ranching/Ganadería, Mining/Minería, Agriculture/ Agricultura, Organizations/ Organizaciones, Family & Community/La Familia y La Comunidad , Occupations/Ocupaciones, and Landmarks/ Marcas de Linderos.
1800s
MP SPC 173:336
Ocampo Family Photograph Collection
La Chicana: A Celebratory Essay
"La Chicana" celebrates Mexican American women across generations, classes, and occupations, from turn-of-the-century women and their families to modern, contemporary Chicana educators and leaders.
Image Credit:
Cowgirls/Vaqueras
1900s
MP SPC SPC 173:687
Ocampo Family Photograph Collection
Sonora, Arizona 1907-1965
In the early 1900s, Mexican and Mexican American workers and their families came to the Arizona region to work for the Ray Consolidated Copper Company, and founded the community of Sonora, Arizona in 1907.Sonora prospered as a copper mining community until 1965, when the town was destroyed by the Kennecott Copper Corporation, Ray Mines division, to improve and develop its open pit operations.
Image Credit:
Groups of people walk across the bridge to St. Helen's Catholic Church./Grupos de gente caminan a través del Puente hacia la Iglesia Católica St. Helen.
n.d.
Club Sonorense Records
MSS 159 7/7.1
