There are three ways to get help in the library:
Come see us! Visit the second floor reference desk at the Elsner or Red Mountain libraries during business hours and speak with a reference librarian.
Call us! Call the Elsner library reference desk at 480-461-7682 or the Red Mountain library reference desk at 480-654-7740 and speak with a librarian during business hours.
Chat with us! The Ask A Librarian chat service is available 24/7, 365 days a years. Ask A Librarian is a free service providing real-time chat with a librarian to help with any of your research needs.
Examples are taken directly from either Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) or from the MLA Handbook, 8th edition. Please be advised that your instructor and the MLA Handbook are the final authority on formatting, mechanics and citing references. This guide provides basic information only. Please refer to the MLA Handbook (8th ed.) for detailed information.
*For other types of sources not listed here go to OWL@Purdue or the MLA Handbook.
In the tabs above you can find sample MLA citations for periodical sources
Remember that all lines after the first line of each entry in your reference list should be indented one-half inch from the left margin. This is called hanging indentation. All text is double-spaced. Sometimes the formatting on webpages like this do not show the correct format.
Basic format
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, pages.
Magazine article
Poniewozik, James. "TV Makes a Too-Close Call." Time, 20 Nov. 2000, pp. 70-71.
Buchman, Dana. "A Special Education." Good Housekeeping, Mar. 2006, pp. 143-48.
*For other types of sources not listed here go to OWL@Purdue or the MLA Handbook.
*All examples are taken directly from the OWL, The Purdue OWL. Purdue U Writing Lab, 2016.
Remember that all lines after the first line of each entry in your reference list should be indented one-half inch from the left margin. This is called hanging indentation. All text is double-spaced. Sometimes the formatting on webpages like this do not show the correct format.
Basic format
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, pages.
Newspaper article
Brubaker, Bill. "New Health Center Targets County's Uninsured Patients." Washington Post, 24 May 2007, p. LZ01.
Krugman, Andrew. "Fear of Eating." New York Times, 21 May 2007, late ed., p. A1.
If the newspaper is a less well-known or local publication, include the city name in brackets after the title of the newspaper. See examples below.
Behre, Robert. "Presidential Hopefuls Get Final Crack at Core of S.C. Democrats." Post and Courier [Charleston, SC], 29 Apr. 2007, p. A11.
Trembacki, Paul. "Brees Hopes to Win Heisman for Team." Purdue Exponent [West Lafayette, IN], 5 Dec. 2000, p. 20.
*For other types of sources not listed here go to OWL@Purdue or the MLA Handbook.
*All examples are taken directly from the OWL, The Purdue OWL. Purdue U Writing Lab, 2016.
Remember that all lines after the first line of each entry in your reference list should be indented one-half inch from the left margin. This is called hanging indentation. All text is double-spaced. Sometimes the formatting on webpages like this do not show the correct format.
Basic format
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages.
Journal article
Bagchi, Alaknanda. "Conflicting Nationalisms: The Voice of the Subaltern in Mahasweta Devi's Bashai Tudu." Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature, vol. 15, no. 1, 1996, pp. 41-50.
Duvall, John N. "The (Super)Marketplace of Images: Television as Unmediated Mediation in DeLillo's White Noise." Arizona Quarterly, vol. 50, no. 3, 1994, pp. 127-53.
*For other types of sources not listed here go to OWL@Purdue or the MLA Handbook.
*All examples are taken directly from the OWL, The Purdue OWL. Purdue U Writing Lab, 2016.