RECOMMENDED LIBRARY DATABASES AND ONLINE JOURNALS
The MCC Library subscribes to a variety of databases and online journals to support research in your coursework. To view the comprehensive list of all library databases and online journals that MCC subscribes to, choose the Databases/eResources link from the library home page.
The links below include recommended library databases and online journals for health and exercise science topics: (if prompted, login with your MEID and password).
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
- MEDLINEProvides access to biomedical and health journals. Coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and allied health.
- Academic Search PremierThe largest academic database with over 4000 full text peer-reviewed scholarly journals covering all academic disciplines.
- Science DirectA full-text science, technology, and medical periodicals database.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextProvides full text articles from 580 nursing and allied health journals. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionScholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionProvides access to hundreds of full-text academic journals with extensive coverage in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. Subjects include child and adolescent psychology, various areas of counseling, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods, and psychiatry and psychology.
- PsycARTICLESProvides current full-text psychology, behavioral, and social science academic journal articles.
- PsycINFO 1887-CurrentA collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts.
- Ovid Nursing, Allied Health, Kinesiology, & Nutrition CollectionCore collection of 23 full text peer reviewed journals in the fields of nursing, allied health, kinesiology, and nutrition with current coverage from at least 2015 to the present.
- Journal of Strength & Conditioning ResearchContains applied sport science and conditioning research articles.
- Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise (Journal)Features original investigations, clinical studies, and comprehensive reviews on current topics in sports medicine and exercise science.
RECOMMENDED OPEN ACCESS RESOURCES
Open access resources are databases and journals that are searchable and accessible to anyone via an internet connection. They are freely accessible and do not require a paid subscription. Open access resources are often identified with an open lock like the image below:
The links below include recommended open access sources for health and exercise science topics:
- BMC Sports Science Sports Science, Medicine and RehabilitationBMC Sports Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation is an open access, peer reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of sports medicine and the exercise sciences, including rehabilitation, traumatology, cardiology, physiology, and nutrition.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
- Journal of Exercise Science & FitnessThe Journal of Exercise Science and Fitness is the official peer-reviewed journal of The Society of Chinese Scholars on Exercise Physiology and Fitness (SCSEPF), the Physical Fitness Association of Hong Kong, China (HKPFA), and the Hong Kong Association of Sports Medicine and Sports Science
- PLOS OnePLOS One is a peer-reviewed open access scientific journal published by the Public Library of Science since 2006. The journal covers primary research from any discipline within science and medicine.
- PubMedPubMed is the world's leading free database for biomedical and life sciences research containing over 34 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Full text journal articles are linked from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).