Open Educational Resources

"Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The library currently includes 708 textbooks, with more being added all the time."

Open-source, peer reviewed textbooks. Free online, low cost in print.

Provides "affordable course materials designed to strengthen learning using open educational resources (OER)."

Free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty and students in higher education.

Maricopa Open Digital Press facilitates the creation and sharing of high-quality ebooks both for publication and classroom use. To learn more, please go to https://mcli.maricopa.edu/teaching-learning-resources/open-educational-resources/mod-press

"Promotes access, affordability, and student success through the use of open textbooks." Over 700 textbooks, searchable by subject.

"A University System of Georgia (USG) initiative to promote student success by providing affordable textbook alternatives."

OER Math Textbooks approved by the American Institute of Mathematics

"Search for quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats."

Includes hard to find content such as CTE content.

Initiated at the University of California, Davis. "The project ensures the OER “5Rs” (Retain, Reuse, Revise, Remix, and Redistribute) design are fully met enabling faculty to build course-specific LibreTexts to meet the needs of their students."

"Open SUNY Textbooks is an open textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants and SUNY Geneseo." Faculty are the authors and peer reviewers of these textbooks with the libraries serving as the publishing service and infrastructure.

"These books are available for you to use, keep, revise, and share under open licenses. Saylor Academy does not own the copyright to any books on this page. Each book’s open license is an agreement between you as the end user and the copyright holder."

"The open-content textbooks collection that anyone can edit."

Browse over 500 million images, available for reuse.

" All content on Pixabay can be used for free for commercial and noncommercial use across print and digital, except in the cases mentioned in "What is not allowed". Attribution is not required. Giving credit to the contributor or Pixabay is not necessary but is always appreciated by our community. You can make modifications to content from Pixabay."

"The internet’s source of freely usable images. Powered by creators everywhere."

"Free stock photos, textures, images, pictures & clipart for any use including commercial."

Filter by license type.

Nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections; includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo. Also, includes the Learning Lab, which you can use to build lessons.

Mostly Public Domain images.

More NASA images.

"At Europeana we work with thousands of European archives, libraries and museums to share cultural heritage for enjoyment, education and research. Europeana provides access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for."

The Encyclopedia of Life aims to increase awareness and understanding of living nature by gathering, generating and sharing knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource.

All clip art images are distributed under the CC0 "No Rights Reserved" license. You can copy, modify, and distribute these images, even for commercial purposes, all without asking permission.

Every image is governed exclusively by the generous terms of the Creative Commons CC0 license.

Stock photo library of diverse multi-racial images licensed CC-BY.

This stock library is a disability-led effort to provide free and inclusive images from our own perspective, with photos and illustrations celebrating disabled Black, Indigenous, people of color (BIPOC). Licensed CC-BY.

Photo library of women’s activities from around the world licensed CC-BY-NC.

Photos of Black and brown people. Licensed CC0.

Stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models. Licensed CC-BY-NC-ND.

Free stock photography collections featuring plus-size people.

Free icons.

Diverse icons.

"DOE ScienceCinema is a multimedia search tool provided by the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information, with video and audio files produced by DOE National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)...Users can search for specific words and phrases, and precise snippets of the video where the search term was spoken will appear along with a timestamp...Users may then select a snippet or a segment along the timestamp to begin playing the video at the exact point in the video where the words were spoken."

Here we feature the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine flix are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.

"We provide free licenses and other legal tools to mark creative work with the freedom the creator wants it to carry, so others can share, remix, use commercially, or any combination thereof...Much of the music found on the Free Music Archive is released under Creative Commons licenses."

"Creative Commons allows free non-commercial use of our music - just Attribute. (CC-BY tracks can even be used commercially with Attribution!)"

Free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty and students in higher education.

"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.... All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available."

Interactive simulations for physics, chemistry, math, earth science, and biology.

"Since 1994, the Concord Consortium has been developing open educational resources that expand and deepen STEM inquiry with technology. These scientifically accurate models and activities have been funded by the National Science Foundation and other private and federal granting agencies, and developed by curriculum experts—so you know you can trust them in your classroom! Our cutting-edge tools and resources have brought STEM practices to life for over a million learners worldwide. They’re all available to you for free!"