LIBRARY CATALOG
Search the MCC Library catalog to locate books in the MCC Libraries.
Not finding what you are looking for at MCC? Expand your search to include All Maricopa Community College Libraries:
To request books from other Maricopa Community College Libraries, click on the "Place Hold" option in the book record and enter your MEID and password! Most requests are filled within one week.
Books & eBooks
The Joy of Signing Third Edition by Call Number: HV2474 .R53 2014ISBN: 9781607313618Publication Date: 2014-10-07The Joy of Signing is one of the most comprehensive guides available for mastering the current basic signs used to communicate with deaf people in either the word order of the English language or in the American Sign Language pattern. This updated third edition provides the basic vocabulary needed for persons entering interpreter training programs. Over 1,500 signs are clearly illustrated and are grouped by chapter into their natural categories. Families as well as professionals will appreciate this manual's conceptually based vocabulary. It includes sections on the history of sign language and fingerspelling, the art of signing, language patterns of signs, and an illustrated guide for fingerspelling.
The Gallaudet Children's Dictionary of American Sign Language by Call Number: HV2475 .G34995 2014ISBN: 9781563686313Publication Date: 2014-10-31The Gallaudet Children's Dictionary of American Sign Language presents more than 1,000 ASL sign drawings arranged alphabetically by English terms, plus delightful color illustrations for each sign. Also featuring English sentences for each sign, the Gallaudet Children's Dictionary stands alone as the best, most entertaining ASL reference volume for deaf and hearing children alike. The Gallaudet Children's Dictionary is a bilingual dictionary that will improve American Sign Language and English vocabulary skills and help children make the connections between signs and written English words. Parents, family members, and education professionals will also enjoy using this reference book. The introduction explains the history of American Sign Language and provides the basics of signing and fingerspelling. Throughout the book are short sections that explore Deaf culture. The index lists all of the English vocabulary.
The American Sign Language Phrase Book with DVD by Call Number: HV2475 .F36 2011ISBN: 9780071759328Publication Date: 2011-05-13With more than 500 phrases, this is the reference guide to everyday expressions in American Sign Language, providing a quick way for you to converse with deaf people. Clearly illustrated with hundreds of line drawings, this book focuses on areas such as health, family, school, sports, travel, religion, time, money, food and drink, and small talk. This edition's chapter on technology boasts 50 phrases to help you communicate about the Internet, computing, video relay, and more. There is even a chapter that gives you phrases for communicating about signing: asking people to sign slower, indicating your fingerspelling ability, and requesting help with your fledgling skills. This edition ncludes a two-hour DVD that presents right-and left-handed signers demonstrating every phrase in the book from chapter 3 through the appendix. From asking simple questions ("How are you?") to more complex phrases ("There's no sign for that, you have to fingerspell it."), The American Sign Language Phrase Book gives you the power to communicate easily and comfortably in ASL.
The Oxford Handbook of Deaf Studies in Language by Call Number: HV2471 .O94 2016ISBN: 9780190241414Publication Date: 2016-01-07Language development, and the challenges it can present for individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing, have long been a focus of research, theory, and practice in D/deaf studies and deaf education. Over the past 150 years, but most especially near the end of the 20th and beginning of the21st century, advances in the acquisition and development of language competencies and skills have been increasing rapidly.This volume addresses many of those accomplishments as well as remaining challenges and new questions that have arisen from multiple perspectives: theoretical, linguistic, social-emotional, neuro-biological, and socio-cultural. The contributors comprise an international group of prominent scholarsand practitioners from a variety of academic and clinical backgrounds. The result is a volume that addresses, in detail, current knowledge, emerging questions, and innovative educational practice in a variety of contexts. The volume takes on topics such as discussion of the transformation of effortsto identify a "best" language approach (the "sign" versus "speech" debate) to a stronger focus on individual strengths, potentials, and choices for selecting and even combining approaches; the effects of language on other areas of development as well as effects from other domains on language itself;and how neurological, socio-cognitive, and linguistic bases of learning are leading to more specialized approaches to instruction that address the challenges that remain for deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals. This volume both complements and extends The Oxford Handbook of Deaf Studies and DeafEducation, Volumes 1 and 2, going further into the unique challenges and demands for deaf or hard-of-hearing individuals than any other text and providing not only compilations of what is known but setting the course for investigating what is still to be learned.
The MCC Libraries subscribe to thousands of eBooks. You can search them all HERE.
Please note: MEID and password required for off-campus access.
Here are a few eBook selections for ASL:
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary by ISBN: 9781944838782Publication Date: 2020-07-22This unique reference can help users locate a sign whose meaning they have forgotten, or help them find the meaning of a new sign they have just seen for the first time. It organizes more than 1,900 ASL signs by 40 basic handshapes and includes detailed descriptions on how to form these signs to represent the different English words that they might mean. Users can begin to track down a sign by determining whether it is formed with one hand or two. Further distinctions of handshape, palm orientation, location, movement, and nonmanual signals help them pinpoint their search while also refining their grasp of ASL syntax and grammar. A complete English word index provides the option of referring to an alphabetical listing of English terms to locate an equivalent sign or choice of signs. This dictionary features: More than 1,900 sign illustrations, organized by handshape Complete index of English vocabulary for all signs An introduction to Deaf culture and ASL structure The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary is a one-of-a-kind resource for learning ASL and enhancing communication skills in both ASL and English.
The American Sign Language Phrase Book by ISBN: 9780071642354Publication Date: 2008-01-01Open up a whole new world of communication through ASL You can easily learn ASL with help from The American Sign Language Phrase Book. With more than 500 phrases, this is the reference guide to everyday expressions in American Sign Language, providing a quick way for you to converse with deaf people. Clearly illustrated with hundreds of line drawings, this book focuses on areas such as health, family, school, sports, travel, religion, time, money, food and drink, and small talk. This edition's new chapter on technology boasts 50 phrases to help you communicate about the Internet, computing, video relay, and more. There is even a chapter that gives you phrases for communicating about signing: asking people to sign slower, indicating your fingerspelling ability, and requesting help with your fledgling skills. From asking simple questions (“How are you?”) to more complex phrases (“There's no sign for that, you have to fingerspell it.”), The American Sign Language Phrase Book gives you the power to communicate easily and comfortably in ASL.
A Historical and Etymological Dictionary of American Sign Language by ISBN: 9781563686214Publication Date: 2015-06-30The story of how American Sign Language (ASL) came to be is almost mythic. In the early 19th century, a hearing American reverend, Thomas Hopkins Gallaudet, met a Deaf French educator, Laurent Clerc, who agreed to come to the United States and help establish the first school in America to use sign language to teach deaf children. The trail of ASL's development meanders at this point. No documentation of early ASL was published until the late 19th century, almost seven decades after the school's founding. While there are many missing pieces in the history of America's sign language, plenty of data exist regarding ASL etymology. This book is the first to collect all known texts featuring illustrations of early ASL and historical images of French Sign Language--langue des signes française (LSF)--and link them with contemporary signs. Through rigorous study of historical texts, field research in communities throughout France and the U.S., and an in-depth analysis of the cultural groups responsible for the lexicon, authors Emily Shaw and Yves Delaporte present a compelling and detailed account of the origins of over 500 ASL signs, including regional variations. Organized alphabetically by equivalent English glosses, each sign is accompanied by a succinct description of its origin and an LSF sign where appropriate. Featuring an introductory chapter on the history of the development of ASL and the etymological methodology used by the authors, this reference resource breaks new ground in the study of America's sign language.
The SAGE Deaf Studies Encyclopedia by ISBN: 9781452259567Publication Date: 2016-02-03The time has come for a new in-depth encyclopedic collection of entries defining the current state of Deaf Studies at an international level using critical and intersectional lenses encompassing the field. The emergence of Deaf Studies programs at colleges and universities and the broadened knowledge of social sciences (including but not limited to Deaf History, Deaf Culture, Signed Languages, Deaf Bilingual Education, Deaf Art, and more) have served to expand the activities of research, teaching, analysis, and curriculum development. The field has experienced a major shift due to increasing awareness of Deaf Studies research since the mid-1960s. The field has been further influenced by the Deaf community's movement, resistance, activism and politics worldwide, as well as the impact of technological advances, such as in communications, with cell phones, computers, and other devices. This new Encyclopedia shifts focus away from the medical model that has view deaf individuals as needing to be remedied in order to correct so-called hearing and speaking deficiencies for the sole purpose of assimilation into mainstream society. The members of deaf communities are part of a distinct cultural and linguistic group with a unique, vibrant community, and way of being. As precedence, The SAGE Deaf Studies Encyclopedia carves out a new and critical perspective that breathes meaning into organic deaf experiences through a new critical theory lens. Such a focus is novel in that it comes from deaf and hearing allies of the communities where historically, institutions of medicine and disability ride roughshod over authentic experiences.
