Skip to main content

Nutrition

Find library and open access resources for researching nutrition and dietetics.

Web Resources

American Dietetics Association - The official association website that includes nutrition fact sheets, nutrition information for consumers, position papers, the food guide pyramid and much more for the general public 

American Society for Nutrition - Research society dedicated to improving the quality of life through the science of nutrition.

Arizona Department of Health Services Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity Program - Contains current AZ statistics on obesity, diet, and physical activity.

CDC FASTSTATS - The Faststats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

Centers for Disease Control  - The lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships. CDC serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities.

Nutrition Policy Institute  - Web resource at UC, Berkeley containing links to programming materials that can be used by both individuals and practitioners.

Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2015-2020 - The USDA's website on the 2010 guidelines for total diet planning, eating behavior patterns, nutrient-dense food intake, weight management and more.

Food and Nutrition Information Center - Provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.

Medical Dictionary from MedlinePlus - Medical dictionary

Medlineplus - Information on over 700 health topics written at a layperson's level; medical dictionary; drug information

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases - Research and health information on diseases of the kidneys and digestive system.

National Institutes of Health - Website of National Institutes of Health. Information on health topics, grants, research.

NIH Senior Health - an easy to use website with health and wellness information for older adults.

Nutrition.gov - This portal offers government information on diet and nutrition and the ways these relate to specific diseases, physical activity, food safety, and dietary needs of special groups. Also included are statistical data, fact sheets, links to other U.S. government sites.

Yale Rudd Center for Food Policy & Obesity - Website for the leading research institution for resources on understanding how we eat, how we stigmatize fat and obese people and how we can change it!

Your Food Environment Atlas - This interactive web tool provides U.S. statistics on food environment factors including food choices, health and well-being and community characteristics.