Research Guides: Dental Hygiene: Books & eBooks

Books & eBooks

eBooks
Books

EBSCO's eBook Academic Collection provides access to thousands of eBooks (full-text, online books). Here is a sampling of some the Dental Medicine titles available online (MEID and password required):

Dental Anatomy
Loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human dental anatomy and the surrounding systems that support its function, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification.
Teeth : The Story of Beauty, Inequality, and the Struggle for Oral Health in America
Teeth takes readers on a disturbing journey into the role teeth play in our health and our social mobility. Otto "doesn't just dwell on the numbers," according to NPR, "she makes what could have been a turgid health policy tome spark with outrage over the stories of people who have suffered." Her subjects include the pioneering dentist who made Shirley Temple and Judy Garland's teeth sparkle on the silver screen; an up-and-coming beauty queen awarded thousands of dollars of free cosmetic dental care; and Deamonte Driver, a young Baltimore boy whose death from an abscessed tooth sparked congressional hearings.
Essentials of Dental Caries
The fourth edition of Essentials of Dental Caries provides readers with an up-to-date, clinically relevant guide to dental caries. Written in an accessible style, the authors explain the biological and socioeconomic background of lesion development and progress. Current methods of clinical diagnosis and evidence based management are outlined in clearly laid out and highly illustrated chapters. This book is essential reading for students and practitioners of dentistry, dental therapy, dental hygiene, and oral health educators.
Evidence-Based Dentistry for the Dental Hygienist
Like any other dental professional, dental hygienists must practice evidence-based dentistry (EBD) to provide the best care to their patients, whether it be through scaling and root planing, caries prevention, or patient education. This book is intended as a textbook for dental hygienists to learn the importance of EBD in the practice of dental hygiene as well as how to implement EBD practices and share EBD findings among office staff.
Dental Anatomy and Morphology
This atlas conveys not only the practical knowledge of dental anatomy but also the art of sculpting it in wax. The ideal anatomy of each dental structure is described in detail and the waxing techniques are beautifully illustrated step by step for visual reference. The author demonstrates that for every morphologic feature there is an explanation in nature, assigning significance to every minute feature of dental morphology. Organized by tooth and arch, this book views morphology through a clinical lens and repeatedly draws connections between anatomical features and clinical concepts.
Local Anesthesia and Extractions for Dental Students: Simple Notes and Guidelines
This textbook presents basic principles of local anesthesia and exodontia for undergraduate dental program students and dental surgeons in training. Readers will understand key concepts and points that prepare them for daily oral and maxillofacial surgery practice. The book also provides detailed notes for managing patients who have different medical conditions such as cardiovascular diseases, endocrine disorders and systemic diseases. Key Features: provides an easy to understand short note format of information for readers covers the basics of anesthesia and pain biology covers simple extractions to complex surgical extractions presents guidelines for managing patients with medical complications.
Communication Skills for Dental Health Care Providers
This evidence-based textbook presents the essential communication strategies clinicians should know to facilitate interaction with patients. With a focus on practical strategies instead of dense communication theories, the authors facilitate improved patient-provider communication and demonstrate how to elicit accurate patient information during the health interview, communicate effectively during examinations and procedures, and present preventive and restorative treatment plans from a patient-centered perspective.
Living and Radiological Anatomy of the Head and Neck for Dental Students
A sound knowledge of head and neck anatomy is essential for the safe and effective practice of clinical dentistry, and much clinically relevant and important anatomy can be learned by examining the living subject in conjunction with radiological images, especially those using CT reconstruction. This book bridges the gap between ‘textbook’ topographical anatomy and the anatomy of the living subject, as experienced in clinical practice.

The MCC Libraries house hundreds of books on health, medicine, human anatomy, dental hygiene, nutrition, and much more. Following are some call number ranges you can browse for human anatomy, nutrition, and dentistry when you're in the library:

RK1 - RK715 = Dentistry
QM1 - QM695 = Human Anatomy
RA773 - RA788 = Personal Health and Hygiene (including nutrition)

Search the library catalog using a variety of keywords to view titles available for checkout. Here are few titles available in our libraries that may interest you:

Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter
Call Number: QM25 .N46 2014
Atlas of Human Anatomy offers unsurpassed depictions of the human body in clear, brilliant detail - all from a clinician's perspective. With its emphasis on anatomic relationships and clinically relevant views, Dr. Netter's work provides a coherent, lasting visual vocabulary for understanding anatomy and how it applies to medicine today.
Mosby's Dental Assisting Exam Review by ELSEVIER; Betty Ladley Finkbeiner
Call Number: RK60.7 .M67 2012
ISBN: 9780323812344
Publication Date: 2022-05-05
Prepare for national certification, local or state exams, or course review with Mosby's Dental Assisting Exam Review, 4th Edition! Based on the content in the Certified Dental Assistant (CDA®) examination administered by the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB), the book provides a comprehensive review of general chairside assisting, radiation health and safety, and infection control. examination - and include answers and rationales. Three print practice tests are included in the Mosby's Dental Assisting Exam Review text and have the same number and type of questions you can expect to see in the General Chairside, Infection Control, and Radiation Health and Safety component exams. Evolve website includes the equivalent of more than six additional CDA®-style exams, and allows you to answer questions in Practice and Exam modes. Test generator on Evolve allows you to create an unlimited number of unique CDA® exam-style practice tests while in Exam mode, giving you test-taking experience in a realistic online environment, and provides feedback after completion of the exam. Clock functionality on Evolve includes a test timer allowing you to practice CDA®-exam time management. State-by-state Expanded Functions questions are included on Evolve, providing preparation for the board exam in any state.
Dental Assistants and Hygienists
Call Number: RK60.5 .E53 2019
If you are interested in a career in the dental assistants and hygienists (the allied health field, as it is often called), you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Dental Assistants and Hygienists includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers three main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Dental assistants -Dental hygienists -Dental technicians
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Dental Professions
Call Number: RK27 .S744 2007
Be it dentistry, dental assisting, or dental hygiene,Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Dental Professions, Second Edition is the go-to resource for all students and professionals in the dental field. This dictionary contains definitions for nearly 16,000 terms relevant to all dental professions, including dentistry, and includes more than 500 illustrations.
The Face: Pictorial Atlas of Clinical Anatomy
Call Number: QM535 .R33 2012
Here, the highly complex anatomical and topographical relationships of the face are represented through a comprehensive series of vivid, detailed, layer-by-layer illustrations with a three-dimensional look.
Darby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene by Christine M. Blue
Call Number: RK280 .B47 2013
ISBN: 9780323679480
Publication Date: 2021-02-23
The most comprehensive dental hygiene review book available, Darby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene, 9th Edition offers an all-inclusive review to help you pass the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) on the first try. Written by a team of expert editors and authors, this affordable, all-in-one review tool includes a wealth of chapter review questions, case studies, outline-style review of all exam topics, and four computerized practice exams that simulate the NBDHE test-taking experience. It's everything you need for NBDHE success! Comprehensive coverage offers an all-inclusive review for the NBDHE and is supplemented with practice questions. Outline format visually organizes the content and presents information in summary style for easy review and study. Logical chapter organization covers the three main areas of the NBDHE - the scientific basis for dental hygiene practice, the provision of clinical dental hygiene services, and community health and research principles. Case presentations throughout help you prepare for Component B of the board examination. Expert editor and chapter authors are leading educators, researchers, and practitioners in their specific areas who have an in-depth knowledge of what it takes to succeed on the NBDHE. NEW! Review chapter content includes new information on alternative practice settings, infection control guidelines, pediatric care, risk assessment, dental hygiene diagnosis, the electronic health record (EHR), and more.