Skip to main content

Health Science

This guide incorporates health information available in the library and online.

BROWSING HEALTH SCIENCE IN THE LIBRARY

The MCC libraries, like most academic libraries, use the Library of Congress Classification system for cataloging books. This is a subject focused classification system utilizing letters and numbers in the book call number. Following are some call number ranges you can browse for health and medicine resources in the library:

QM1-QM695 = Human Anatomy

QR1-QR50 = Microbiology (includes immunology and virology)

R5-RZ999 = Medicine (includes all aspects of medicine)

TX341-TX641 = Nutrition (foods and food supplies)

 To browse an online list of books on the subject of health, click on the link below:

Browse Health Books

FINDING BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

Circulating Books (aka: Books you can take home!)

The MCC Libraries house thousands of books on health and medicine. Students may check out up to 20 books at a time for 28 days. Your student ID is your library card!

 Identifying circulating books in the library catalog:

Circulating books are identified as 'General' under Status and as 'Book' under Material type in the Library Catalog. 

Reference Books (aka: Books that stay in the library!)

Reference books include encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and specialized research books. Although reference books do not circulate, they can be used in the library. Visit the second floor of the Paul A. Elsner Library on the Southern and Dobson campus or the second floor of library at the Red Mountain campus to browse our reference collections.

Identifying reference books in the library catalog:

Reference books are identified as 'Reference' under Status and as 'Non-circ book' under Material type in the Library Catalog. 

To begin searching the MCC Library Catalog, click on the link below:

MCC Library Catalog

Featured Ebooks

The EBSCO eBook Collection offers a large selection of academic, non-fiction ebooks. The books linked below represent a small sampling of ebooks available on the subject of Health and Medicine. To search for additional titles, search the EBSCO eBook Collection.

These books are accessible from off campus using your MEID and password.

Our Aging Bodies

Encyclopedia of Lung Cancer

The 4 Stages of Heart Failure

Ebola: Essentials, Response Efforts, and Prevention Issues