Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HES 210 Research Guide

This guide will assist students enrolled in HES210 to explore and research health topics

Scholarly Research

Once you've collected your background research, looked holistically at your topic and identified your research questions, it is time to start researching for scholarly journal articles. Scholarly journal articles provide evidence from specific research studies and provide factual, unbiased information that will help you draw conclusions and support the issues surrounding your topic. Although library databases are your best source for locating journal articles, there are additional open web resources that provide access to thousands of reliable, scholarly journal articles. Recommended library databases and open web resources are identified on this page to help you with your research.

LIBRARY DATABASES

MCC subscribes to a variety of databases that provide access to thousands of journals. To view the comprehensive list of all library databases MCC subscribes to, choose the eResources link from the library home page. The databases listed below will be your best resources for health related topics (off-campus access requires an MEID and password).

Library Databases:

1. Medline - the largest biomedical/health article database in the world. 

2. Academic Search Premier - a multidisciplinary scholarly database with extensive coverage of biological and health sciences and issues relating to these fields.

3. Academic One File - a multidisciplinary peer-reviewed database with coverage of medicine, science and technology.

4. ScienceDirect - search and access the scholarly collection of Elsevier science journals, books and reference works.

5. CINAHL Plus with FullText - the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature database encompassing all aspects of medical and health science issues. 

6. Health Source Nursing/Academic - an essential source for nursing and health research. Includes pediatrics, mental health, critical care and more. 

7. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences - search over 500 journals in the field of psychology and behavioral sciences.

8. PsycArticles - Search over 100 journals from the American Psychological Association (APA) in the field of behavioral sciences.

9. PsycInfo - Indexes over 2,500 journals in the fields of behavioral sciences and mental health. 

10. Communication and Mass Media - Indexes journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, communication theory, and more.

11. Religion & Philosophy This resource is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies, with content as it pertains to the topics related to and discussed in disciplines of religion and philosophy

12. ERIC - (Education Resource Information Center) An authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources essential for education researchers of all kinds.

OPEN ACCESS RESOURCES

Open access resources are databases and journals that are searchable and accessible to anyone via an internet connection. (They are freely accessible and do not require a paid subscription). Full text content for some of these resources may be limited.

The list below includes open access sources for health related topics and issues:

1. PubMed - PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

2. Google Scholar - Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

3. DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) - Provides growing access to free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Thousands of titles in the health and medical fields are included.