ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription
by
Get scientifically based, evidence-informed standards that prepare you for success -- from the source you trust! ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, 12th Edition, from the prestigious American College of Sports Medicine, provides authoritative, succinct summaries of recommended procedures for exercise testing and exercise prescription in healthy populations and individuals with conditions or special considerations. Lippincott Connect is available for this title. If you wish to purchase a package that includes Lippincott Connect see other purchase options. Now fully up to date from cover to cover, this flagship title is an essential resource for all exercise professionals, as well as other health care professionals who may counsel patients on exercise, including physicians, nurses, physician assistants, physical and occupational therapists, personal trainers, team physicians, and more. Updated content reflects current ACSM guidance on best practices for exercise testing and prescription, based on changes in the field and advances in research. Expanded coverage on the application of exercise testing and prescription in applied settings, as well as updated coverage on behavioral theories and resistance training. Reader-friendly features include abbreviations and common acronyms listed up front; boxes, tables, and figures that highlight key concepts in quick-reference, easy-to-digest formats; case studies that reflect real-world experience; FITT tables that apply Frequency, Intensity, Time, and Type principles; and useful appendices on common medications, ECG interpretation tips, metabolic calculations, and more. Updated and expanded student and instructor resources reflect all changes in the 12th edition, making this title a must-have resource for students, independent learners, and educators, as well as fitness professionals, allied health professionals, and others who care for active adults.
Complete Conditioning for Soccer
by
The future of soccer conditioning has arrived. With content ranging from how to properly develop speed, strength, power, and agility in players at all levels to unique position-specific training guidelines and detailed return-to-play protocols, Complete Conditioning for Soccer is a real game changer. Training protocols and progressions, complete with schematics of on-field conditioning drills, guide conditioning for players from youth to professional levels. Field players of every position will increase strength to dribble through traffic. Forwards will pack more power into shots on goal. Central midfielders will improve quickness and agility to find open passing lanes and evade opponents. Goalkeepers will develop the explosiveness to cover the width of the goal to make that save. Emphasizing player movement and conditioning needs for the long term, you will learn the positional and seasonal demands that directly impact player development and performance and discover the significant differences between playing styles, positions, levels of play, and genders. To keep players game-ready, you'll find detailed information on avoiding some of the most common soccer injuries as well as step-by-step, position-specific training protocols for players returning from injury. Written by Ryan Alexander, the director of sports science for Atlanta United Football Club (MLS), Complete Conditioning for Soccer takes the process of physical preparation for soccer to a whole new level.
Complete Conditioning for Volleyball
by
From more powerful attacks to higher block points at the net, you will reach new levels of performance on the court with Complete Conditioning for Volleyball. In this one-of-a-kind video-enhanced resource, University of Illinois volleyball and strength and conditioning coach Steve Oldenburg provides you with access to the elite-level training that has helped the Fighting Illini become one of the most powerful Division I programs in the country. In Complete Conditioning for Volleyball, you'll learn to evaluate your current conditioning level and use those results to construct an individualized training program that emphasizes the development of your weakest areas. Armed with 184 exercises, you'll be able to improve every aspect of your game to become an improved all-around player. Complete ready-to-use programs are included for immediate implementation for preseason, in-season, and off-season training. With the accompanying video-on-demand content, you'll have access to enhanced demonstration of 42 exercises to ensure proper execution and allow you to experience maximum benefits. Before you hit the court for your next match, add a copy of Complete Conditioning for Volleyball to your locker so you can become a dominant player on both ends of the court and lead your team to victory!
Strength Training for Basketball
by
Why is strength training important for the basketball athlete? In a dynamic game that changes by the instant, athletes need to be conditioned to sustain the highly stressful workloads experienced during practice or a game. For the basketball athlete, that means strength cannot be defined only as a measure of how much weight the person can lift; rather, it is an ability that should be judged by whether it can successfully be applied on the court. Developed with the expertise of the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA), Strength Training for Basketball shows you how to design resistance training programs that will develop your athletes' strength on the court--helping them to jump higher, accelerate faster, and abruptly change direction. The book will help you understand the specific physical demands of each position--point guard, shooting guard, small forward, power forward, and center. You will also find the following: 20 testing protocols for measuring and assessing athletes' strength, reactive strength, power, speed, agility, endurance, and anaerobic capacity 18 total body exercises with 2 variations 19 lower body exercises with 3 variations 17 upper body exercises 11 anatomical core exercises with 5 variations 16 sample programs for off-season, preseason, in-season, and postseason resistance training Each resistance training exercise consists of a series of photos and a detailed list of primary muscles trained, beginning position and movement phases, breathing guidelines, modifications and variations, and coaching tips to guide you in selecting the right exercises for a program. You'll also learn how to structure those programs based on the goals and length of each season and for each position. Backed by the NSCA and the knowledge and experience of successful high school, college, and professional basketball strength and conditioning professionals, Strength Training for Basketball is the authoritative resource for creating basketball-specific resistance training programs to help your athletes optimize their strength and successfully transfer that strength to the basketball court. Earn continuing education credits/units! A continuing education course and exam that uses this book is also available. It may be purchased separately or as part of a package that includes all the course materials and exam.
Strength Training for Baseball
by
Baseball programs at all levels recognize the competitive edge that can be gained by their athletes through targeted resistance training programs. Every Major League Baseball team, most minor league teams, the top 25 ranked college baseball teams, and even some high schools (depending on the level and size) have a full-time strength and conditioning professional on staff. With Strength Training for Baseball, you will gain insights into to how amateur to professional baseball players are trained, and you will learn to apply those best practices with your own team to gain a winning advantage. Developed with the expertise of the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA), Strength Training for Baseball explains the value of resistance training for baseball athletes--backed by practical experience, evidence-based training methodologies, and research. The book will help you understand the specific physical demands of each position--pitchers, catchers, middle infielders, corner infielders, center fielders, and corner outfielders--so you can design program that translate to performance on the field. You will also find the following: 13 detailed protocols to test baseball athletes' strength, power, speed, agility, body composition, and anthropometry 11 total body resistance exercises with 13 variations 19 lower body exercises with 29 variations 28 upper body exercises with 38 variations 23 anatomical core exercises with 11 variations 34 sample programs for off-season, preseason, in-season, and postseason resistance training Each resistance training exercise consists of a series of photos and a detailed list of primary muscles trained, beginning position and movement phases, modifications and variations, and coaching tips to guide you in selecting the right exercises for a program. You'll also learn how to structure those programs based on the goals and length of each season and for each position. Backed by the NSCA and the knowledge and experience of successful high school, college, and professional baseball strength and conditioning professionals, Strength Training for Baseball is the authoritative resource for creating baseball-specific resistance training programs to help your athletes optimize their strength and successfully transfer that strength and power to the baseball field. Earn continuing education credits/units! A continuing education course and exam that uses this book is also available. It may be purchased separately or as part of a package that includes all the course materials and exam.
Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning
by
Developed by the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) and now in its fourth edition, Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning is the essential text for strength and conditioning professionals and students. This comprehensive resource, created by 30 expert contributors in the field, explains the key theories, concepts, and scientific principles of strength training and conditioning as well as their direct application to athletic competition and performance. The scope and content of Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning, Fourth Edition With HKPropel Access, have been updated to convey the knowledge, skills, and abilities required of a strength and conditioning professional and to address the latest information found on the Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (CSCS) exam. The evidence-based approach and unbeatable accuracy of the text make it the primary resource to rely on for CSCS exam preparation. The text is organized to lead readers from theory to program design and practical strategies for administration and management of strength and conditioning facilities. The fourth edition contains the most current research and applications and several new features: Online videos featuring 21 resistance training exercises demonstrate proper exercise form for classroom and practical use. Updated research--specifically in the areas of high-intensity interval training, overtraining, agility and change of direction, nutrition for health and performance, and periodization--helps readers better understand these popular trends in the industry. A new chapter with instructions and photos presents techniques for exercises using alternative modes and nontraditional implements. Ten additional tests, including those for maximum strength, power, and aerobic capacity, along with new flexibility exercises, resistance training exercises, plyometric exercises, and speed and agility drills help professionals design programs that reflect current guidelines. Key points, chapter objectives, and learning aids including key terms and self-study questions provide a structure to help students and professionals conceptualize the information and reinforce fundamental facts. Application sidebars provide practical application of scientific concepts that can be used by strength and conditioning specialists in real-world settings, making the information immediately relatable and usable. Online learning tools delivered through HKPropel provide students with 11 downloadable lab activities for practice and retention of information. Further, both students and professionals will benefit from the online videos of 21 foundational exercises that provide visual instruction and reinforce proper technique. Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning, Fourth Edition, provides the most comprehensive information on organization and administration of facilities, testing and evaluation, exercise techniques, training adaptations, program design, and structure and function of body systems. Its scope, precision, and dependability make it the essential preparation text for the CSCS exam as well as a definitive reference for strength and conditioning professionals to consult in their everyday practice. Note: A code for accessing HKPropel is included with all new print books.
Exercise Technique Manual for Resistance Training
by
Created by the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA), Exercise Technique Manual for Resistance Training, Fourth Edition With HKPropel Online Video, is a practical resource for current and aspiring strength and conditioning professionals and personal trainers. With unmatched visual demonstration of a variety of free weight and machine exercises, the text is a valuable tool for those preparing for an NSCA certification exam and for others who design programs for athletes and clients of all ages and fitness levels. This updated reference is the most comprehensive collection of resistance training technique available. The revised fourth edition contains the following: An additional 30 exercises that expand the coverage to 100 total exercises, each with a step-by-step checklist that teaches safe and effective exercise technique Two or more full-color photos of each resistance training exercise that distinctly show correct technique Online video clips for each resistance training exercise that demonstrate proper technique in action and highlight common errors Exercise Technique Manual for Resistance Training, Fourth Edition With HKPropel Online Video, is organized by body region, with parts I through IV covering total body, lower body, upper body, and anatomical core exercises. Part V highlights exercises using alternative modes and nontraditional implements. Every chapter contains a table that describes each exercise's concentric action, predominant muscle groups, and muscles involved, enabling readers to understand the impact of the exercises on each body region. To reinforce fundamental techniques, the text includes guidelines related to general safety, tips for breathing and spotting, preparatory body position, and weight belt recommendations. Exercises are explained through sequential instructions and photos to ensure that readers will learn the safest and most effective technique. Accompanying checklists identify the correct grip, stance, body position, and range of motion for each exercise. Online videos demonstrate proper technique as well as common errors so that users can recognize incorrect techniques and make appropriate adjustments. With 100 resistance training exercises and online video demonstrations, Exercise Technique Manual for Resistance Training is the most authoritative and current resource in teaching safe and effective resistance exercise technique. Note: A code for accessing online videos is included with all new print books. Earn continuing education credits/units! A continuing education course and exam that uses this book is also available. It may be purchased separately or as part of a package that includes all the course materials and exam.
ACSM's Fitness Assessment Manual
by
Published by the American College of Sports Medicine, ACSM's Fitness Assessment Manual builds on the standards established in ACSM'S Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, 11th Edition. With a focus on assessment, this new 6th edition is organized by component of fitness: body composition, cardiorespiratory fitness, muscular fitness, flexibility; and by type of testing: maximal and submaximal exercise testing, ECG, and metabolic calculations. Updated coverage throughout in a user-friendly format, makes this an essential resource for those studying to enter the fitness and rehabilitation fields, as well as those already working who need to align their practice to industry standards. New and revised content throughout, including new chapters on metabolic calculations and electrocardiography, reflects the latest standards published in ACSM'S Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, 11th Edition. New enhanced, large-format, spiral-bound design ensures fast, easy access in any setting. Laboratory activities integrated throughout the test students' knowledge and understanding of assessment methodology. Case studies challenge students to apply what they've learned and strengthen their assessment and interpretation skills. Text boxes, tables and figures clarify important information at a glance. Chapter outlines and summaries highlight key chapter concepts for fast reference.
ACSM's Resources for the Personal Trainer
by
An essential resource to prepare for the ACSM Certified Personal Trainer examination, ACSM's Resources for the Personal Trainer, 6th Edition, provides critical insights for Certified Personal Trainer candidates looking to boost their exam confidence, as well as practicing Personal Trainers who want to take their practice to the next level. This updated edition is fully aligned with the eleventh edition of ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription and equips readers with the latest practices in client screening, exercise program development, and working with special populations. Published by the American College of Sports Medicine, this top-selling text guides readers from an introduction to the profession and the science behind the field through the building blocks of a successful exercise program and ultimately the establishment of a successful personal training practice. Engaging case studies and study features help ensure the retention for success on the ACSM-CPT exam and provide prospective and practicing Personal Trainers with both the tools and scientific evidence to build safe and effective exercise programs for a variety of clients. NEW! Update content aligned with the 11th edition of ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription prepares students to confidently perform the most effective client fitness assessments and create successful resistance training programs. UPDATED! Full-color photographs clarify concepts and techniques. Chapter objectives keep students focused on the most vital content. Case Studies provide essential practice applying concepts to realistic scenarios commonly encountered by Certified Personal Trainers. Key Points and chapter summaries reinforce important chapter takeaways.
NSCA's Essentials of Personal Training
by
Developed by the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA), NSCA's Essentials of Personal Training, Third Edition With HKPropel Access, is the definitive reference for personal training professionals and students. This comprehensive guide to personal training, with contributions from leaders in the field, provides the most accurate and reliable information and guidance for current and aspiring professionals. Updated to reflect the latest research, with clear explanations of supporting scientific evidence, this edition will give readers the knowledge, skills, and abilities (KSAs) needed by modern personal training professionals. New content addresses the latest objectives found on the National Strength and Conditioning Association's Certified Personal Trainer (NSCA-CPT) exam, maintaining this text's position as the single best resource for those preparing for the NSCA-CPT exam. NSCA's Essentials of Personal Training, Third Edition, provides guidelines for the complex process of designing safe, effective, and goal-specific resistance, aerobic, plyometric, and speed training programs for clients of all ages and fitness levels. With comprehensive coverage of various categories of unique client needs, readers will learn how to make specific modifications and adjust exercise programs for each individual client. Multiple fitness testing protocols and norms for each component of fitness--including 10 new tests--are all presented, along with instructions that are detailed yet easy to follow. Over 200 full-color photos and accompanying instructions clearly describe and visually show proper technique for exercises and drills, including stretching, plyometrics, and stability ball exercises. There are new sections on suspension training, manual resistance training, and common types of resistance training equipment. Plus, 27 online videos, delivered through HKPropel, demonstrate exercise technique in action, preparing readers to instruct clients through safe exercise performance. Students will also be able to complete chapter quizzes assigned by instructors through HKPropel. Study questions at the end of each chapter, written in the same style and format as those found on the NSCA-CPT exam, facilitate learning of chapter content and fully prepare candidates for exam day. Practicing professionals and aspiring professionals alike will benefit from a new appendix of advice on building a successful career as a personal trainer. NSCA's Essentials of Personal Training, Third Edition, remains the most comprehensive resource available for personal training preparation and professional development. Unmatched in scope, this essential text continues to be a definitive reference for current and future personal trainers, exercise instructors, fitness facility and wellness center managers, and other fitness professionals. Note: A code for accessing HKPropel is included with all new print books.
Science of Stretch
by
Explore new movements and alleviate stiff joints with more than 100 exercises designed to keep you flexible, energized, and active for life. Pain and stiffness can create fear and uncertainty in our ability to move, affecting quality of life. Exercise has continuously proven to be beneficial against disease, yet people are becoming increasingly sedentary. More than a quarter of the world's population is insufficiently active and it's time we remove barriers to exercise and encourage movement exploration. The Science of Stretch is your guide to understanding the human body's resilient and adaptable nature and how stretching can play a role in achieving your highest well-being. Inside the pages of this book you'll learn about: -The latest research on stretching -Human anatomy and physiology -The nervous system and pain science -How to reduce injury risk with exercise -Managing a lifestyle catered towards healthy aging -What happens to the body when we stretch -Different types of stretching and how to implement them to best compliment your daily life or sporting activities -Finally, a series of suggested stretch routines are outlined, each with a progressive increase in challenge and tailored to different abilities and fitness objectives-alongside the tools to create your own bespoke workouts. Every exercise is anatomized in detail to make movement easily understood using CGI artworks to show how each muscle is correctly activated and each joint aligned. Whether you're taking a walk around the park or running a marathon, Science of Stretch will help you stay flexible, keep active, and remove the uncertainty from stretching.
NSCA's Guide to Tests and Assessments
by
NSCA''s Guide to Tests and Assessments offers strength and conditioning professionals a one-stop resource for the best research-supported fitness and performance measures available. Created by top experts in the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA), this comprehensive text offers extensive information on which factors matter and how to evaluate them as accurately and easily as possible. Editor Todd Miller and an authoritative team of contributors have compiled an exceptional reference and valuable tool for practicing professionals and an indispensable educational resource for students. NSCA''s Guide to Tests and Assessments presents the latest research from respected scientists and practitioners in exercise testing and assessment. The text begins with an introduction to testing, data analysis, and formulating conclusions. It then features a by-chapter presentation of tests and assessments for body composition, heart rate and blood pressure, metabolic rate, aerobic power, lactate threshold, muscular strength, muscular endurance, power, speed and agility, mobility, and balance and stability. Using descriptions of multiple test options for each key fitness component, readers will learn to choose from a range of alternatives to meet the needs of their athletes, reach training objectives, choose from available equipment, and work within budgets. Each chapter provides a summary detailing the key testing and assessment information for each fitness component, the equipment needed for performing the tests, step-by-step instructions, normative data for the tests, and multiple test options per conditioning component. Insights into the applications of testing for certain fitness components are also presented: * The value of body composition assessments in determining health and fitness levels for competitive athletes as well as individuals across the life span * How an understanding of 24-hour energy expenditure can be useful in structuring a complete diet and exercise plan for weight loss, gain, or maintenance * How to select a maximal or submaximal aerobic power test that is specific to the demands of a client''s or athlete''s sport * Discussion of the mechanical and physiological factors shown to influence the expression of muscular strength * An examination of the relevant factors influencing power production and explosive movement capacity * Differences between mobility and flexibility and a discussion of the acute versus chronic effects of static stretching * Theories and concepts of balance and stability, their effects on performance, and categories of testing for balance and stability NSCA''s Guide to Tests and Assessments also includes NSCA-approved testing protocols, extensive references to current research, and applications for the testing of conditioning components. Information is presented in an accessible manner to help explain the findings of both researchers and practitioners so that readers can select the most effective and efficient approach for athlete and client assessments. Properly conducted tests and skillful assessment of data enable fitness professionals to develop individualized training programs based on their clients'' or athletes'' physiological and functional capacities. Credible,, current, and complete, NSCA''s Guide to Tests and Assessments provides a clear understanding of the test selection process, how to implement appropriate data collection, and how to analyze data to make appropriate training decisions that will help athletes and clients achieve their performance goals. NSCA''s Guide to Tests and Assessments is part of the Science of Strength and Conditioning series. Developed with the expertise of the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA), this series of texts provides the guidelines for converting scientific research into practical application. The series covers topics such as tests and assessments, program design, and nutrition. Earn continuing education credits/units! A continuing education course and exam that uses this book is also available. It may be purchased separately or as part of a package that includes all the course materials and exam.