Skip to Main Content

Mesa Community College Archives

 

Collection Policy and Transfer Procedure

Why Transfer Records?

The work your office does is important.  Transferring your office’s records to the Archives ensures your contribution to MCC’s development is remembered.  Without records from all offices, important information is lost.

You can save office space and/or file cabinet space by transferring seldom used records to the Archives.  

By transferring the seldom used records, you are no longer responsible for caring for them and searching them when necessary.  The information you need will always be available.  There is even a bonus:  by combining the resources of the many departments that transfer records, a full and accurate research service can be provided.

Selecting Records

Records and the information they contain are evaluated and appraised in order to determine how useful they are now and how valuable they will be in the future.  We will assist departments in evaluating records and selecting appropriate records for transfer to the Archives.

Selection Criteria:  Records are selected for transfer to the Archives based on the following criteria:

  • Records documenting the administrative, legal and financial functions and activities of the college.
  • Records having long-term or historical value because they contain information of historical interest to the creating department, the college, the community, and to future researchers.

Preparing Records for storage:

  1. When you have material that needs to be transferred to the Archives, the first step is to contact the Library staff.
  2. The Archives will maintain the original order of the materials as you send them.  Before transferring material to the Archives, you should sort and weed unnecessary and duplicate items.  Put any loose papers into standard office folders and provide concise, meaningful folder titles that accurately describe the subject matter and dates of the contents.  You are most familiar with your own material.  If you make sure that all records are placed in folders and clearly labeled before you send them to the Archives, you will ensure that your collection is properly documented and accessible in the future.

  1. If you have a large amount of material:  Please place the folders upright in storage boxes (ask the Archivist for boxes if you need some).   If you have a small amount of materials, put them in a large envelope and label the contents.

  1. Each box or large envelope should be labeled with:
  • Name of office or department (e.g. President’s Office or Athletics Department)
  • Title of records (e.g. Records of Shouan Pan or Publicity Materials)
  • Box contents and dates (e.g. Graduate Council Minutes 2009-2011)

  1. All materials MUST be accompanied by a completed Transfer Form.