Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Combined APA and MLA Citation Guide

APA Reference Examples (7th ed.)

*Example of journal article reference:

Grady, J. S., Her, M., Moreno, G., Perez, C., & Yelinek, J. (2019). Emotions in storybooks: A comparison of storybooks that represent ethnic and racial groups in the United States. Psychology of Popular Media Culture8(3), 207–217. https://doi.org/10.1037/ppm0000185

Jerrentrup, A., Mueller, T., Glowalla, U., Herder, M., Henrichs, N., Neubauer, A., & Schaefer, J. R. (2018). Teaching medicine with the help of “Dr. House”. PLoS ONE13(3), Article e0193972. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0193972

 

  • Parenthetical citations: (Grady et al., 2019; Jerrentrup et al., 2018)
  • Narrative citations: Grady et al. (2019) and Jerrentrup et al. (2018)

* All examples are from the APA Style website

*Example of magazine article reference:

Schaefer, N. K., & Shapiro, B. (2019, September 6). New middle chapter in the story of human evolution. Science365(6457), 981–982. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.aay3550

Schulman, M. (2019, September 9). Superfans: A love story. The New Yorkerhttps://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2019/09/16/superfans-a-love-story

  • Parenthetical citations: (Schaefer & Shapiro, 2019; Schulman, 2019)
  • Narrative citations: Schaefer and Shapiro (2019) and Schulman (2019)

* All examples are from the APA Style website

*Example of newspaper article reference:

Carey, B. (2019, March 22). Can we get better at forgetting? The New York Timeshttps://www.nytimes.com/2019/03/22/health/memory-forgetting-psychology.html

  • Parenthetical citation: (Carey, 2019)
  • Narrative citation: Carey (2019)

* All examples are from the APA Style website

 

*Example of whole book reference.

Rabinowitz, F. E. (2019). Deepening group psychotherapy with men: Stories and insights for the journey. American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000132-000

Sapolsky, R. M. (2017). Behave: The biology of humans at our best and worst. Penguin Books.

  • Parenthetical citations: (Rabinowitz, 2019; Sapolsky, 2017)
  • Narrative citations: Rabinowitz (2019) and Sapolsky (2017)

* All examples are from the APA Style website

  •  

*Example of edited book chapter reference

Aron, L., Botella, M., & Lubart, T. (2019). Culinary arts: Talent and their development. In R. F. Subotnik, P. Olszewski-Kubilius, & F. C. Worrell (Eds.), The psychology of high performance: Developing human potential into domain-specific talent (pp. 345–359). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000120-016

 
 
  • Parenthetical citation: (Aron et al., 2019)
  • Narrative citation: Aron et al. (2019)

* All examples are from the APA Style website

*Example of dictionary reference

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Culture. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved September 9, 2019, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/culture

  • Parenthetical citation: (Merriam-Webster, n.d.)
  • Narrative citation: Merriam-Webster (n.d.)

Here is a print dictionary example:

Merriam-Webster. (2003). Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary (11th ed.). 

* All examples are from the APA Style website

*Example of government report reference

National Cancer Institute. (2019). Taking time: Support for people with cancer (NIH Publication No. 18-2059). U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health. https://www.cancer.gov/publications/patient-education/takingtime.pd

 

Parenthetical & narrative citation example
  • Parenthetical citation: (National Cancer Institute, 2019)
  • Narrative citation: National Cancer Institute (2019)

* All examples are from the APA Style website

*Example of YouTube video reference
Harvard University. (2019, August 28). Soft robotic gripper for jellyfish [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=guRoWTYfxMs
 Parenthetical & narrative citation example
  • Parenthetical citation: (Harvard University, 2019)
  • Narrative citation: Harvard University (2019)

* All examples are from the APA Style website

*Examples of Tweet reference

APA Databases [@APA_Databases]. (2019, September 5). Help students avoid plagiarismWeb emoji of crossing hands and researchers navigate the publication process. More details available in the 7th edition @APA_Style table [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/APA_Databases/status/1169644365452578823

Gates, B. [@BillGates]. (2019, September 7). Today, it’s difficult for researchers to diagnose #Alzheimers patients early enough to intervene. A reliable, easy and accurate diagnostic would [Thumbnail with link attached] [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/BillGates/status/1170305718425137152

Parenthetical & narrative citation example
  • Parenthetical citations: (APA Databases, 2019; Gates, 2019)
  • Narrative citations: APA Databases (2019) and Gates (2019)

 

 

* All examples are from the APA Style website

*Example of Facebook post reference

News From Science. (2019, June 21). Are you a fan of astronomy? Enjoy reading about what scientists have discovered in our solar system—and beyond? This [Image attached] [Status update]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/ScienceNOW/photos/a.117532185107/10156268057260108/?type=3&theater

Parenthetical & narrative citation example
  • Parenthetical citation: (News From Science, 2019)
  • Narrative citation: News From Science (2019)

* All examples are from the APA Style website

*Examples of web page on a website reference

Fagan, J. (2019, March 25). Nursing clinical brain. OER Commons. Retrieved September 17, 2019, from https://www.oercommons.org/authoring/53029-nursing-clinical-brain/view

National Institute of Mental Health. (2018, July). Anxiety disorders. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health. https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/anxiety-disorders/index.shtml

Woodyatt, A. (2019, September 10). Daytime naps once or twice a week may be linked to a healthy heart, researchers say. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/2019/09/10/health/nap-heart-health-wellness-intl-scli/index.html

World Health Organization. (2018, May 24). The top 10 causes of deathhttps://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/the-top-10-causes-of-death

Parenthetical & narrative citation example
  • Parenthetical citations: (Fagan, 2019; National Institute of Mental Health, 2018; Woodyatt, 2019; World Health Organization, 2018)
  • Narrative citations: Fagan (2019), National Institute of Mental Health (2018), Woodyatt (2019), and World Health Organization (2018)

* All examples are from the APA Style website