Research Guides: Life Sciences: Journals & Databases

Browsing Journals Online

Here are some online life science journals available through our database subscriptions.

Acta zoologica

Bioscience

Environmental Health Perspectives

Genome Biology

Journal of Ecology and Environment

Nature Genetics

PLOS Biology

Anatomy & Cell Biology

BMC Physiology

BMC Biology

For a complete list of life science journals available online, search the MCC Journal Finder.

Browsing Print Journals

Here are some print journals and magazines relevant to Life Sciences available in the MCC libraries.

Current issues of journals can be found in the Periodical Areas of both MCC libraries.

For a full, alphabetical list of journals and magazines the library subscribes to, you can search the MCC Periodical Holdings.

Library Databases

Search the following databases to find magazine and journal articles as well as other resources in the life sciences. All of these databases are accessible from off campus using your MEID and password.

Academic OneFile
General, multi-disciplinary database with full-text
Academic Search Premier
General, multi-disciplinary database with full-text
Credo Reference
A collection of 525 full-text reference works in every discipline including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and more.
General OneFile
General, multi-disciplinary database with full-text
Masterfile Premier
General, multi-disciplinary database with coverage of consumer health, general science and technology
Medline
National Library of Medicine's premier database covering medicine, health care, preclinical sciences and more.
Nature
The international weekly journal of science with great life science coverage including biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, neuroscience and more.
Science Direct
The leading scientific database with full-text access to over 2,500 journals and 11,000 books in medicine, science and technology.
Science Full Text Select
All full-text content database with coverage of applied science and technology, biology, biotechnology, genetics, marine biology, microbiology and more!
JStor
A multidisciplinary database with access to thousands of academic journals.
Environmental Studies and Policy
Digital resource that answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 scholarly journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more.