Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Process

Places to Find Information

Your college library website is a good place to start! Librarians have gathered lots of resources in one place to make it easier for you to find reliable information. Use the tabs above to learn about where to find sources of information.

View this video to learn where to find and how to use the Library's website:

The library has many sources available to you online in their databases! Databases collect different sources together and organize them so you can find what you need more easily. The Library databases have a variety of sources within them, including popular and scholarly articles, streaming videos, images, and ebooks.

View this video that will show you how to find and choose a database on the Library’s website:

OneSearch: sort of like Google but for the library. OneSearch searches and finds resources in all of the Library databases with just one search. The benefit is you don't have to go through all of the different places to find sources. The disadvantage is it can be a lot to go through, so you will need to be able to refine and limit your results. The search box is located on the Library's homepage under the OneSearch tab.

View this video to learn strategies on searching OneSearch:

Books and ebooks: the library has both physical books and ebooks, whichever you prefer. Use the Library Catalog to find physical books and library databases to find ebooks. 

[Choose best database(s) or websites for your subject and add as links below by clicking on Add and then Database or Link]

Google with limits. There are ways to use Google more effectively. One is to limit to domain specific websites such as .gov, .edu, or .org to make your Google search more manageable and reliable.

View this video to learn some more Google search tips:

Don't want your online activity tracked? Duckduckgo is a search engine you could use that doesn't track your online activity!

[Choose best database(s) or websites for your subject and add as links below by clicking on Add and Link]

Images: the web is one of the best places to find images, but many of the library’s article databases contain images that are copyright free and include citations. This can be a time saver! It’s important to pay attention to images that are Copyright protected and to give credit and cite any images you use. Below are some useful resources for finding images. 

[Choose best database(s) or websites for your subject and add as links below by clicking on Add and then Database or Link]

Videos: the library has over 9,000 streaming videos that are educational and can be used as a source for a research assignment or in a presentation. These can primarily be found in databases. Citations are included.

[Choose best database(s) or websites for your subject and add as links below by clicking on Add and then Database or Link]