FABRIC
FABRIC Incubator is a garment manufacturer and fashion incubator providing programs, classes, services and resources to help fashion designers and entrepreneurs reach their potential right here in Tempe! Visit FABRIC Incubator to find jobs, fashion businesses, industry events, and much more!
For Further Information
For further information on careers and job searching, visit the MCC Library Careers Research Guide.
Career Exploration Resources:
There are a variety of sources you can access to explore careers in the fashion industry. Here are a few:
Library Databases:
- Ferguson's Career Guidance CenterA career research database providing detailed and up-to-date profiles of more than 3,000 jobs in more than 94 industries.
- Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)Provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Open Web Resources:
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)The US Bureau of Labor & Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
- CareerOneStop This link opens in a new windowSponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, CareerOneStop's mission is to deliver integrated, easy-to-understand workforce information that helps job seekers, students, workers, workforce intermediaries, and employers develop their capacity and make sound economic decisions in the new economy.
- O*NET Online This link opens in a new windowO*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
Books and eBooks @ The MCC Library:
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance by Call Number: REF HF5381 .E52 2018ISBN: 9780816085149Publication Date: 2018-10-30A six-volume print resource for career exploration and planning. Comprehensive career information, sidebars, and user-friendly features, including the Career Ladder, which shows common career paths for each profession, provide a clear picture of what it takes to launch a successful career. Called out by graphic icons are the top fastest-growing careers, the highest-paying jobs, and the top careers that experts predict will add the greatest number of positions. Extensive Online References and Sidebars More than 4,000 websites are listed in the career field and profession articles and refer users to professional associations, government agencies, and other organizations.
Guide to Fashion Career Planning by Call Number: TT507 .P357 2016ISBN: 9781501314643Publication Date: 2016-03-10Guide to Fashion Career Planning provides an in-depth overview of preparing for a career in the fashion industry - across many job possibilities, skill sets, and career interests - and guides the readers through professional preparation from goal setting all the way to finding the first job. While many resources exist for topics such as career paths or internships, this book presents a seamless and comprehensive approach to everything needed for professional and career development covering resume writing, interviewing, job search strategies, internships and portfolios for fashion design, merchandising and retail careers.
So You Want to Be a Fashion Designer by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781620232057Publication Date: 2017-06-30Becoming a fashion designer is the dream of many young people. As of 2014, there is even an award for this young talent called the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers. If you aren't living in the heart of New York City or Tokyo, how do you go about beginning your dream of starting a fashion design career? This book is the definitive source for the young adult audience. Teeming with interviews from successful designers as well as captivating images of example designs, this book has everything the young audience needs. You will learn how to pursue education, how to determine your specialty, patternmaking, bookkeeping, and everything in-between âe" all explained simply.The young adult audience will come away from this book with not only all the up-to-date information on fashion design, but also a keen sense of how to create a business plan as well as how to advertise online. If you want to know everything there is to know about how to be a fashion designer (before you make the mistakes this book teaches you how to fix), then this is the perfect read for you.
