Staying informed about global events is essential for Model UN delegates, as real-world developments directly impact policy discussions and diplomatic positions. Accessing reliable international news sources ensures that delegates can support their arguments with up-to-date information and gain insight into different perspectives on global issues.

To effectively read international newspapers, you need skills in critical thinking, cultural awareness, geopolitical understanding, language comprehension, vocabulary building, information analysis, identifying bias, and the ability to navigate complex issues across different regions; essentially, you should be able to read with a global perspective, considering different viewpoints and contextualizing events within their respective cultural and political landscapes. Delegates can use newspapers to develop a well-rounded understanding of international affairs, identify emerging trends, and strengthen their policy positions with evidence-based research.

This section highlights key tools and databases for finding credible international news. Major news organizations such as BBC News, Al Jazeera, and The New York Times provide broad global coverage, while region-specific sources offer localized insights. Academic and open-access databases like can also help delegates find in-depth analyses, policy reports, and historical context.

Methods to Find Newspapers in MCC Library

MCC Libraries One Search: limit results to newspapers

1. Visit https://www.mesacc.edu/library and search your issue keywords in the One Search box. For example "Afghanistan AND biodiversity". Press Search.

2. Use the Refine Your Results column left of the search results. Look under Resource Type and select Newspapers Search.
    
3. Your results will refresh to only list newspaper articles. To further refine your results, check the box for Available Online and set the publication date range you wish to search. Click Refine.

Newspaper Databases

1. Visit https://mesacc.libguides.com/az/databases to view the A-Z list of databases available for search.
2. In the top menu, select the Types drop-down menu. Select Newspapers. Click Search.
3. View the abstract beneath each database name to review each database' scope of coverage.

Find International News: Tools & Open Access Databases

International Newspapers [GUIDE]: Use this guide from NYU Libraries to see databases that allow you to browse and search individual international newspaper titles online. Some include digitized ("as printed") PDF versions of the news, while other contain only the full text. If you don't see the specific country you are searching for represented in these databases, try one of the databases with global coverage. 

International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON): The ICON database is the most comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital and micro formats. It includes a freely accessible database of bibliographic information for newspapers around the world in more than 150 countries. Many of the newspaper archives are made freely available online.

Google News Archive: Discover historical digital publications and scanned newspapers.

Newspaper Map: Map of the world with links to newspapers in various geographic locations. Includes information about the language of the newspaper.