Skip to main content

Integrating Library eResources into Teaching & Learning

This guide describes how to create persistent links in your learning management system or course materials to the Libraries' e-content such online databases, online periodicals, specific articles in online periodicals, e-books, and streaming videos.

Finding and Linking to Periodicals

1. From our homepage, click on the Journal Finder tab, enter the title of the Periodical, and click on Search.

journal finder tab

2. Choose a database from the results list (note the dates available) and click on the title of the chosen database. If it does not come up, it is not available electronically in a database.

linking to online journal step 3

3. The homepage for the periodical will come up within the database you selected.This is where you find the persistent link to that periodical's homepage. Depending on the vendor, the steps are different. See the other tabs for EBSCO, Gale, and Proquest examples. If you need a link from another database, please contact Megan McGuire at megan.mcguire@mesacc.edu or Sheila Afnan Manns at sheila.afnan-manns@mesacc.edu.

1. If it's an EBSCO database, click on Share in the top right corner.

linking to online journal step 4

2. A box will pop open that includes the persistent link. Click on it to copy and paste where you need it.

linking to online journal step 5

1. If it's a Gale database, click on Bookmark in the top right corner.

 

gale persistent link icon

2. A box will pop open that includes a link. Click on it to copy and paste where you need it, and add the beginning ezproxy portion to the beginning of it (https://login.ezp.mesacc.edu/login?url=).

gale link

 

proquest logo

If it a ProQuest database, clink on the link in the url box. Copy and paste it where needed.

 

proquest link